You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The long white cloud

Hi Galen, I just read this blog post of yours, and really enjoyed it.

"You'd have to be an Aussie or a Kiwi to understand the dynamic."

Gimme back our pavlova and Phar Lap, and you can keep Russell Crowe. Deal?

Yep, I'm a Kiwi, living in West Auckland. I haven't travelled much, but I did spend some time in Te Waipounamu (the South Island) in the past. It sure is lovely there, very tranquil. I particularly enjoyed the wide, meandering river beds, like the Waimakariri River.

Sort:  

What could possibly make you think us keeping Russell Crowe is a good deal? Lol. And nope, pavlova is ours, but we're happy to share.

I loved NZ so much and will be back more than one more time I can assure you. Those glacier-carved rivers you mention are so beautiful. I walked a long one for a few kilometres and loved it. It actually felt old and made me feel like I, and the person with me, were the only people on the planet. NZ is legit, but tell no one I said so, I have an Australian credibility to uphold after all. 🤪

Thanks for your cool comment.

Strangely, the glacier rivers of Canterbury remind me of the many happy hours that I have spent in the marshlands to the West of Whiterun in Skyrim. I quite enjoyed walking through the river beds there, hunting giant crabs and picking plants as reagents for alchemy ingredients.

Skyrim, that's a video game right? I have no clue. Sorry.