You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 13: Ask me anything

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago

Great question! You offering me a corner at your place? Lol.

Yeah, well I lived for a time in Brisbane, Queensland (too busy) and in Cairns for a time also. (Loved that, but far too humid!)

I think I'd like to live about 20 minutes out of Hobart in Tasmania. Close enough to the small city but far enough to not feel like I'm in it...Countryside and nature all around. Also, I like the region on the New South Wales south coast, sort of Bega to Woolongong (probably actually as far up as Nowra) and a little inland. Lush and fertile and around there.

I'm not a massive fan of the heat so somewhere that doesn't get as hot as South Australia would be good...But I'm a, SA lad at heart and am not sure if I would ever move. Who knows though right?

There's loads of places I'd love to be though....It's a long list.

And you? I know you've just relocated to QLD from TAS...Dream move or would you go elsewhere?

!ENGAGE 25

Sort:  

Actually I wasn't going to relocate to Queensland well not yet as I was going to travel all over Australia for some time maybe a couple of years. So far this virus crap has me kinda stuck here for now. As you know my house just sold a week ago and have some dollars sitting in the bank and using this time to check out potential places to live once the travel is done that's if it really even gets started🤣.

Yes I was thinking I may settle back down in Queensland somewhere sometime and if a suitable place presents it self I will buy it. I had been thinking of South Australia or even South Western Australia as other options to look into when traveling about.

If I get a decent sized block of land you are most welcome to visit and setup camp.

2020 has done some ass kicking huh? Yours, mine and so many others...It'll pass though and your meanderings will be able to begin. I like S.A. Fewer people and some really legit places to hunt, off-road and camp and decent weather for most of the year. It is hot in Summer, but besides a couple months it's really pretty decent.

I'm sure you'll get your travelling done and find somewhere cool to settle down. I'd be happy to drag my caper trailer over, sit around the fire and tell lies with you!

Yes I am sure this craziness will pass soon🤔 I am not adverse to settling back down in Tasmania either. Sure hope we can do that sometime in the future, relax around a beautiful fire and chat the night away👍

It'll happen and happy days shall return. For now, stay connected, ask those around if they are ok and look after yourself...That's all we can do.

Yes indeed 👍

My dream would be to life along the Queensland far north coast. Mackay to port douglas would be ideal. I do like the heat and the tropics. I was a dream of mine for a long time. Still is!

When I went to Australia I noticed it was just as expensive as the U.S. Is there a place that is budget friendly that has a decent quality of life? Similar to the Southern, or Midwestern, states in America(Or anywhere but San Francisco, New York,& D,C. ).

Adelaide is the most affordable city I think. Good climate although it can get very hot in summer, like 47C (116F). It's a smaller city, some 1.2m as opposed to the 4m in Melbourne and Sydney but it has everything a person needs. Great locations around the State and some amazing beaches. Here's a couple near me.

20191226_141804_2-EFFECTS.jpg

PC080055.jpg

Stuff like this is 2.5 hours away...

IMG_5924.jpg

It's a very cosmopolitan lifestyle and we have two famous wine regions...Barossa and McLaren Vale. Loads of places to eat out, plenty of parks around, and a choice of suburbs to suit any budget.

I was born here, so I'm biased though. :)

Wow! This looks beautiful. I might have to check this place out. Thanks for the recommendation.

South Australia is a good spot.

Australia is beautiful indeed

It surely is...The best country in the world.