You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 13: Ask me anything

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago

This is an interesting question and one which I can answer in only one or two simple words...You ready?

People are asking me questions because thirteen weeks ago I decided to promote engagement a little more proactively here on hive. I'm a strong advocate of engagement here as I know the benefits it can bring, and in over three years of being on the blockchain I've watched my own small account grow a little through engagement and relationship building.

I thought about many ways to help promote engagement and give people an easy way to reach out to others, most of which I discarded as not suitable for one reason or another.

But all was not lost, and in my deliberations I came up with a concept that invited people to a post with the sole reason of commenting and engaging, based around a topic that I set. Because engagement is slower on the weekend I decided that the weekend would be the most advantageous time to target for said engagement initiative and so Friday is when the topic is released.

I called it the #weekend-engagement topic.

I decided also to reward people with votes and, ENGAGE tokens and also in direct transfers of HIVE to their wallets which I would transfer to them on the Monday directly after the weekend and announce it with a post tagging them. The emphasis is on fun and humour although some have taken a more serious tone which is fine also; As long as people are engaging I'm happy.

Since its inception the #weekend-engagement post is responsible for thousands and thousands of comments being placed on the blockchain over the weekend and well over 1000 HIVE being transferred to many many users simply for their comments and engagement with others, all based around the topic I announced each Friday, just like this one you commented on.

People have come to enjoy the engagement, and many have begun to form strong new relationships with those they have met here on the #weekend-engagement post and those relationships will assist users to build their network, profile and the amount of rewards they earn on their own posts...This is the power of engagement, valid and relevant engagement, here on hive.

People are also asking questions because they enjoy interacting with others, learning about the other members of the hive community and the by-play between themselves and those people; It deepens people's enjoyment here on hive.

So, I hope this very short and to the point answer is a suitable response to your question of why are people asking questions.

If, by some chance, you feel my very brief response insufficiently answers your question I would be more than happy to write a longer response explaining the benefits of engagement and interaction on hive.

Sort:  

Thank you big brother, what a lovely feedback! I like it, "We" approach, and without engagement, it’s never been possible.
Together we grow! Happy weekend!

Have you ever considered shorter responses? I would never have the time for this kind of response!!!

It seems kinda superfluous to me, jus' sayin'😆

superfluous

Hit the mark I was going for then. Job done.