You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 13: Ask me anything

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago

A good question...

I was born here so know no other place to live...What do I like? It's a free country where people don't need to live in fear. It has wide open spaces as 95% of the population live on only 5% of the land and contains some of the most ancient and spectacular places a country could have.

Australia is diverse with alpine mountain ranges, deserts, arid lands, savanna, tropical rain forests, native bush, fertile farming land and stunning coast lines. It's diversity reaches into the community also as we have people's from all over the world and can enjoy their food and culture.

We have cosmopolitan cities and small country towns all filled with people from different parts of the world and all with their own unique flavour to add. I myself am the son of a man who immigrated in 1965, fell in love with an Aussie woman, married and embraced Australia as his country. He came for a better life and received it through hard work and effort.

We have a proud heritage of being helpful to others even if that means sacrificing something ourselves and we're always willing to lend a hand, roll up our sleeves and pitch in. It's a country in which hard work can be rewarded and yet has a laid back approach to life mostly; We value our time off and the outdoorsy activities the country permits.

So...What do I like the most about living here?

I think the safety and freedom we enjoy is the answer to that. Australia is the lucky country...

Having said all of that, one thing I don't value is the way the Australian way of life is under threat from people who come here and refuse to assimilate, expecting Australia and it's people to fit around them. Most of these people, when asked, say we came here for a better life...And yet so many bring the same troubles here that made them want to leave wherever they came from in the first place. I hate that.

P.s. People watching is so much fun!

!ENGAGE 25

Sort:  

Now I want to visit your country even more! Unfortunately, that security and freedom is precisely what Venezuela lacks, where I am from. The last thing you said sounds pretty... toxic, let's say. I understand how annoying it can be that others try to take away precisely what is most characteristic and what you most like from a place. I hope it becomes less frequent.

Australia really is a decent place to live and I heard they want to increase the population to 50 million quite quickly which will only ever happen through immigration...Probably not in my life time but that's ok, I'd lament the loss of the true Australia anyway.