Sort:  

I was at an auction in January where one didn't make reserve at $500,000. It wasn't one of the Laurence bikes. Number 8 traded a few years ago for 1.7 million.

Here's the one that didn't sell for half a mil:

image.png

Way out of my league, but good to see people valuing history huh?

Best car/motorcycle show around is some of the really big auctions. The one last year cost $20 general admission but had a really great show and it was fun watching the auction when I was done walking around...

Covid permitting I think a buddy and I are going to go to one in Las Vegas in January. Should be fun.

I watch Barrett Jackson auctions from the States sometimes. Some nice machinery.

My eldest brother is in the car game, restos. He knows Richard Rawlings well, from Gas Monkey, and others. So my bro goes to SEMA every year. I'd like to go one day.

I've only been to SEMA once when I was racing. What a freaking candy store for a gearhead. It's just amazing.

The last auction I went to was televised (Meechams) and the one we'll maybe go to in January is Barrett Jackson.

SEMA looks insane, plus my bro hangs out with all the dudes so I guess it has appeal from another angle. Lucky him I suppose.

I'll look out for you on Barrett Jackson. Hold up a hey G-dog sign. 😂

I'll be sitting back and away. The only people you see on TV are the ones with bidding passes. But I'll take the sign just in case.

Here's number 8 it was on display in the Imperial war museum In London until about 2013.
image.png

Oh, my. It's really a gorgeous motorcycle isn't it? Thank you. Just seeing it makes me feel 'special'.

Yes, very nice I still don't know why they removed it from the museum, it was replaced with a Honda CG125 copy from Afganistan?

The bike was/is owned by an individual. I believe it was sold as a part of an estate sale. I think it is now available but at a huge price.

I've seen the Vincent Red Shadow twice, both at auction. The guy that owns it won't let it go for less than a million and he's been close both times. It is one of one.

I know of the bike you mention, a White Shadow special order only 15 ever built and only the 1 in red. A very special bit of kit and bloody expensive.

Exactly. Damn, is it pretty.

I wonder why Vincent never offered the red?