You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend Wonder (ings)

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago

Happens here...Loads of manufacturing going to China...They're happy to do it, can make money and then when they want to take us over they just restrict supply and starve us out. Smart Aussie government, smart. Same happening all over. Soon cheap labour will rise and so will costs to the consumer...Us...And we've shut down our manufacturing capabilities and so are fucked. Smart.

Sort:  

Yep. Exactly. I actually think it's the one thing Trump has done well. Renegotiate trade deals. Though in all honesty I think his trade deals have really benefited his companies...

BTW, the new (as yet untested) washer and dryer are Amana made in Iowa. On purpose.

I just did a post on my MUT, made in Oregon, USA. The quality shows. I prefer Aussie made over stuff made in Asia, it's difficult to find stuff that isn't made there though.

Oregon and Washington are interesting places, and a lot alike. Couple of big cities and the rest is just rural where people know how to work hard and make things. Some excellent stuff built there. There was a guy down in Pendelton, OR that had some wild ideas about trap guns. He got a little famous then died. I think he might have been on to something, and the left behind guns are still in high demand 40 years later...

A hell of a lot of small knife works, too.

Another place I'd like to get to some day. I was only telling Faith tonight about a few of the chats I've had here and how shit it is that the pandemic and other factors have conspired against travel. Who knows though, I think in the future we'll get there...The hassle will be to determine where we would go with the limited time we'd have, a month or so only.

The US is a huge place with lots of stuff to see. And the truth is you probably can't make many mistakes long as you are open to it.

Yeah, that's what I figured...We don't like only briefly touching on things so we'd pick a few locations, stay a while and explore those areas. Who knows, maybe we'd have longer. Come hive...MOON!

Yeah, but also others in general I'd hope. They all do it I guess, those in power always feather their own nests.

At the risk of making a gratuitous comment, the only answer to that is: Yeah. Exactly.