You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Which one

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

I'm not about to disagree with any of what you say and there's not much to add I guess.

I said to someone last night that you and I think alike and are alike; that's clear to see. This, in reference to your post and my own on this topic, which that person had not read yet, and still probably hasn't...but will.

Logic is difficult argue with mostly, and for those who are somewhat prepared for crisis and emergencies, it comes more easily. This is why I prepare myself, focus on it and put into practice what I know in trial-runs.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

I said to someone last night that you and I think alike and are alike; that's clear to see.

Seriously, that is one of the best compliments I've received in a long, long time! I hope you know I hold you in high esteem and you have my respect, which is difficult to earn lololol

Thank you in return.

One of the coolest things I find about hive is the relationships, from across the world, with people who I'd never usually meet. It's one of the reasons I'm still around. In case you're wondering who I was speaking to it was @andrastia. She's going to need some help determining a handgun for personal/home defence soon and I told her you'd be a good person to check in with although there's others, such as @jacobtothe.

Anyway, I think she'll post about it at some point.

What's the best personal/home defense handgun? Easier asked than answered. As a former cell phone salesman from back when Android was new and Blackberries dominated business markets, I would revert to the style of questions I would ask people then.

What experience and training do you have, and what specific problems do you want to solve? Here, the scenario already eliminates rifles and shotguns, but what do you know and what do you not know? Honestly assess your situation.

What is your budget, especially after taking into account extra accessories? Yes, I sold a lot of bluetooth earpieces and belt pouches. Similarly, a gun purchase likely also needs a cleaning kit, holster, ammunition, and potentially some training courses. The price of the gun is a significant portion of the total expenditure, but nowhere near the entirety.

Specific to guns, are we talking open carry, concealed carry on your body, or carry in a purse or backpack? Is it something that will live in your bedside stand? How much time and money are you really willing to devote to practice?

Do you live with other people? Does the gun need to be secured so children or a mentally-unstable family member cannot readily access it? Personal anecdote: I once lived in an apartment where I was playing water gun games with some neighbor kids, and one neighbor's toddler waddled out with daddy's revolver. No harm was done, but words were had later.

As for specific models, sure, I could say, "Just buy a Glock 19." It's to handguns what the Honda Accord is to sedans: boring, reliable, kinda ugly. Good enough for most, not necessarily ideal for everybody. Or I could say, "Just get a Smith & Wesson K-frame in .357 Magnum." It's more the Chevy truck equivalent. Old roots, reliable, plenty for most situations. It's also not for everyone, though. My personal interest is in weird stuff. New experimental designs. Old models that got discontinued when I was still in diapers. Oddball calibers. Foreign guns where even Brownells or Numrich doesn't have ready access to spare parts. Think a Renault or Saab car equivalent in the 2022 America market. I would advise against those very strongly for the first-time buyer, but circumstances may require thinking outside the box, too.

Legal restrictions play a huge role in what models and calibers may be available even within the US coughCALIFORNIA&NEWJERSEYSUCKcough and I wouldn't even know where to begin advising someone who lives outside the US.

All good stuff indeed. It will come in handy when the young lady posts and asks for some insight. If you don't see it I'll tag you in the comments.