You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 68: Phone photos or make a meme

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

I'm not sure in other countries but a statue like this, an advertisement like this, would probably not be permitted here...Also, small girls running around in a male changeroom would not be permitted, or acceptable either, dressed or not. Political correctness and all.

Sort:  

Here, in Canada, children under the age of five are allowed in either changeroom. However, there is always a unisex family changeroom available also. While women violate the "under five" rule all the time, bringing older boys into the ladies' room, the reverse doesn't happen, and I feel it is a weird double standard.

I don't think there is inherently anything wrong with male or female nudity, but if there are little boys in the ladies' room, why not little girls in the men's room? It's somewhat moot. Personally, as a little girl, I was happy my father trusted me to change in the ladies' room on my own even when I was under five. I don't think I would have enjoyed the men's room.

In some parts of Canada, such a statue might be tolerated. My province of Alberta is not one of them! Lol. People would write very strongly worded letters of protest indeed.

It's interesting how different laws are across the world.

It is. I try to be sensitive to the multicultural nature of this and other platforms. Sometimes, I probably do better than others.

It's hard to know what's right and wrong in this regard as society's are so different and political correctness has spiralled out of control. I think being courteous and polite in general is a good way to begin.