You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 53: You in 20 words

in Weekend Experiences • 3 years ago

Cultured! Such a good one. Now I wish I'd added that to my list although it's not a full list so possibly I can just say it's there, behind the scenes. 🤓

It's interesting to read people's lists, especially those I've interacted with a lot...One gets the feeling that the list makes perfect sense, matches the person. It's how I feel with your list. It makes sense.

I like the addition of independent as I know you certainly are, something that so many can't claim in a society that breeds reliance on others over self-reliance.

A good list but I wonder, what would you say is your most valued trait, just from your list?

!ENGAGE 20

Sort:  

I hesitated about adding cultured on the end of the list. But it seemed to sum up the other things that I thought of adding, like loves Art Museums, Theater, history, classic literature and fine dining. It is definitely a word that fits for you.

The word that brings me the most pleasure is probably 'helpful' . It is the word that gives me a sense of purpose these days. I feel like I can be helpful by offering encouragement and answering questions for people who post in my communities.

 3 years ago  

It would be so difficult for me to select one word out of my own list! But you've done it quite well and I'd say it's a good choice. Helpful. It sounds very relevant to you. I think it's easy not to be helpful these days right? I mean being helpful requires some effort, not just physical effort but emotional as one must find the ability to want to be helpful before one can take the steps towards being helpful.

Cultured...Hmm, well I think some would say that of me, if they met me in real life. If one is, it shows I believe. I don't promote myself as such though, I just be me, and those who respond positively will see more than others.

Here on hive I tend to be a bit of a knucklehead, present myself as such...It's amusing for me. I am many things though, as you are, or anyone for that matter; Some good, some bad, depending on perspective. 😊

I definitely don't promote myself as cultured either. It just happened to be the only word I could think of to sum up some of my favorite activities. Can we squeeze F1 into the cultured category?

 3 years ago  

F1 watching is definitely cultured; It's beyond all doubt. (Provided snacks are involved of course.)

Helpful is definitely an excellent trait to think is one that defines you. I've certainly seen it in the communities that you're involved in anc appreciate it! Great list, gardening is a really fun one!

@cmplxty Thank you! I have not had a great day and you have no idea how much your words mean to me.

like loves Art Museums, Theater, history, classic literature and fine dining. It is definitely a word that fits for you.

All that and you live on a relatively quiet river? Pretty cool in my book.

I think my one word would be happy. I am.

Happy is a perfect word! I am, too.

Speaking of rivers, we need rain so badly. The river is down 4 feet from its usual level. It is very unusual for here, especially this early in the summer.

Ahhhhhh. That is sad. I live in a place that is so historically dry that we can never go past "USGS Moderate Drought" We are the only place in the south half of Arizona that isn't in "Extreme".

Like for example: The level of the Colorado at Hoover Dam is as low as it has ever been since the original filling in 1931. It's the largest impoundment in the US.

I'll have pictures in a couple of weeks. Where I take them will depend on how I head north but I already know that it will be gruesome.