You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 37: Your job passion

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

I'm going to interpret your dream job as travelling minstrel instead of travelling pianist just because I can and I think it would have been an exciting job back in the day.

Minstrels were highly regarded hundreds of years ago and were largely free to move about untroubled and welcomed to towns and villages all over the place. They brought happiness and joy to people's lives and bards in particular used to pass down valuable stories from one place to the next which kept people informed. It started legends and myth.

Anyway, a good dream job, in any era, so thanks for joining in.

!ENGAGE 15

Sort:  

Oh no, now you have found out my real age. To come from the Middle Ages, actually :D

Not a bad variation od my initial dream, sounds more interesting. But I remember, when we had countless kinds of music histories, that I didn’t like this lesson about minstrels. They were represented as jugglers, acrobats, musicians and fools. That last was so out of my acceptance, I don't know why. I mean, does the occidental music owes its development to fools? hahaha. It just couldn't fit in my head those days back in time 🤣

We're all fools, every human, at some stage in our lives. We act foolishly and think foolishly...But that's just human nature.

Very clear now... It was not clear during my school days :D

That's true...My school days...Not much was clear other than the fact I didn't want to be there!

We have a legendary (and very popular) guy around here. Kokopelli. Called a fertility deity by anthropologists, the Hopi knew him as a traveling entertainer. The images have been very modernized today, but here's an original:

image.png

I think you'd make a great wandering musician if you could just find someone to tote your piano around!

Hahaha, I would have maybe to change the instrument? So some smaller one :-)

If I was this guy I'd make my name: G-dogopelli.