You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 53: You in 20 words

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

This is a good question and one I'm probably not qualified to answer but...

In the military, in initial training, a certain aggressive demeanor is utilised to keep the recruits in a state of unrest at all times. There is nothing calm about it. The idea is to break down the civilian to a point before they can be rebuilt as military personnel. It is not done personally, to hurt or destroy the recruit, it's done to assist the transition and create an effective soldier and is the fastest way to do so.

So, maybe that's one case in which anger and disorder can be fabricated to create something positive?

In certain sports a coach may fashion anger and disorder to motivate also. Boxing, MMA, full-contact sports maybe.

Just a couple of possible situations I guess. I could be wrong, although on the first one I am not.

When not to be calm?

The loss of a loved one will destroy a calm demeanor, as will the production of adrenaline in the body, that's what adrenaline is all about - The fight of flight thing.

Calm on the battlefield can be an advantage with the leadership, just as being the opposite can with the enlisted, hence all the training soldiers go through.

One wants the JTAC to be calm when he's calling in precision air strikes in danger-close situations, they are trained for it, but a soldier in a firefight will not be calm, they will be amped and simply rely on training and muscle memory to perform their job.

So, I think there's cases where it can be an advantage. Clearly there's also cases when it would be of detriment. One must know and act accordingly...But many do not.

This is just my opinion. I'm no expert on the matter.

Sort:  

This is comprehensive in and of itself. thank you very very much. that illustration of the military recruits during training i think sums it up perfectly. i would say its also a similar mental experience with disciplining children. its hardship and disorder and discomfort used to break down in order to rebuild properly

A good example you use here, quite right I'd say.

I'm glad my answer made sense to you and thanks for making me think a little. 😁 11:30pm here Saturday night, but I got the thinking done. ✅

Holy.....
I'm sorry for putting you on the spot like that.. time works differently here in West Africa

All good, my brain works well at any time of the day... Usually.

That's right Australian time is 12 hours ahead of ours.. right now you are probably fast asleep as I type this..

 3 years ago (edited) 

Yep, sound asleep...But it's Sunday morning now and my feet hit the ground. It's always a good day when one wakes up. 🤣

Once again by the time you would be reading this.. it would be the break of dawn for you..ahhh don't you just love geography