You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Put in - Get out

in Weekend Experiences6 months ago

I've not got as much in for this planting, I just didn't have the time but soon I'll have some more in, lettuce for instance and be eating it all summer, it grows quickly here. It's all going well though, and I'm really looking forward to my tomatoes.

With the pests, it's mainly slugs. I put a small container into the ground and fill it with beer. They go it and don't get out. Deals with them pretty effectively.

Sort:  

Beer, eh. I'll try that out and see if it works for me as well. Thanks.

Tomatoes are awesome. They are a good side dish, or you can make tomato juice.

Use a fairly shallow container, quite wide in diameter though. Sink it into the soil so that the top edge is slightly above the dirt. They creep in, get drunk and that's all she wrote, no more slug.

Imagining that was funny; drunk slugs. Thanks for the tip, will try it out.

The song now sings... "What do you do with a drunken snailer..." sailor

Haha! Yep, them snails get on the turps anytime they can. I don't mind as long as the fuckers leave my vegetables alone.