You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 71: The animal in you

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

Bringing out the wolf in yourself isn't a bad thing at all and it's not a misunderstanding of the topic...You have the right to be as creative as you like.

I watched a documentary on wolves only about a week ag and they are fascinating creatures...Quite intelligent also...A great spirit animal indeed.

Sort:  

Thank you! Yes, wolves are fascinating creatures, as you rightly say. It's the animal that the dog comes from, isn't it? The lone wolf is peculiar and I don't know how much of it exists in reality or only in literature, because wolves are pack animals that live in groups and always have a leader.
The wolf is a special animal in Romanian history. The ancestors of the Romanians were called Dacians in ancient times. The Dacian flag was a kind of dragon with the head of a wolf and the tail of a snake. It is depicted like this on Trajan's Column in Rome. Trajan is the Roman emperor who defeated Dacia and the column in Rome was built in honor of this victory. The Dacians considered themselves wolves. Now in the forests of Romania, there are more wolves than in all forests of the European Union.

I have to agree with you, Dan! @bluemoon You are definitely a lone wolf, but, yes, you also like living in a pack.

Good choice, I think. Good day from here! :))

Thanks, I'm glad you approve of the wolf in me.

It made perfect sense when you brought it up. I am definitely not a wolf. :)

I know, lioness!

I've heard of Dacians, through references in some of the historical things I've read but in truth I don't know much about them other than living close to the Carpathian Mountains and that they used to call themselves wolves. Very cool indeed. Now I have to do some research to scratch that itch to know more. 😀

The Dacians were barbarians, barbarians who owned a lot of gold. In the Carpathian Mountains, there were many gold mines. That's why they were attacked and occupied by the Roman Empire. They built a bridge across the Danube to reach Dacia.