You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 30: Double topic!

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

Something like a 2.2% death rate from known cases worldwide based on WHO figures as at the time of writing this comment...Minimal I'd say but there's no governmental control without fear and so...

I believe that for people gauging their year in isolation of everything else many would say it's been good. (Work from home etc.) But whilst that may be the case I think in hindsight, looking back from the future, the year will be revealed as one in which many civil liberties were lost irrevocably, a death-toll sounded for the cash-economy (card use promotes control and tracking) and life changed for the worse...Time will tell of course but the control measures implemented won't roll all the way back. Travel will be harder, customer service will (has) declined as will medical care. Education has suffered, here at least as teachers haven't been able to reach all students effectively, @hlezama could attest to this, and how job loss can be a good thing I'm not sure. Sure, the world has had to do things differently, but at what cost?

But to the individual, like a friend of mine who picked up more hours and made more money working from home, the year may look better. It's all subjective.

I worked from home too, March to October and did very little...My pay was reduced by 20% but I did 80% less work...I don't see that as a good thing though as the company worked around it, knows it can do the same, or similar, with less personnel. I'm very cautious about saying how great the year was, despite some good things happening for Faith and I, as I think the true gauge of the year 2020 won't be able to be measured for some time to come.

Good track, added to my instrumental Spotify playlist. You might like to check out the soundtrack to the movie Oblivion dude.

!ENGAGE 25

Sort:  

Oh absolutely. The overblown policies and things done after 9/11 globally were always and continue to be touted as"temporary" but they are far from it. Psychopaths want more control, more slaves and thrive off people in fear. Unfortunately many believe it if they repeat it enough and everyone touts the same fear message, I've found if people aren't too strong in their self-confidence and convictions they succumb to the agenda. Just my thoughts and experience.

Another interesting component I've learned is that a big portion of the "educated" class of people that I interact with often are trained to just trust someone else's professional opinion. They don't think to question anything and just take it at face value. That's the most dangerous, I think. We need to think for ourselves and form our own opinions. It may not be correct at times but that's also part of science. You need to have a theory and constantly rethink it and try to see if it still holds true. "Science" lately is more of a religion than it is by the definition of science. There's too much "this is how it is, do not question it" going around. Heretics of past generations are now called pseudo-scientist as a way to dismiss them outright in the public eye.

Might have gone off a bit much but this is quite the topic in my life, I just don't talk much about it.

There were definitely short-term benefits and long-term damages to all of this. Our freedoms globally have been eviscerated in the short and long term but short term I got more home-time and attained some personal goals. Teachers and lots of other people in the work force have been really challenged and damaged by all of it. It’s brought some people closer together than before which is good.

Another element of the wider picture I guess right? People seem to want to be led rather than do the work themselves, use their own brain...It's all too hard to do so and takes precious time away from the more important things like counting likes on Facebook, shopping on credit and taking selfies. Science? Don't worry about science, inquisitiveness and wonder, just do what we say.

Pathetic really, and anotger example of how easily fooled people are, and their desire to cease independent thought.

I'm glad you brought this up actually, it has me thinking in new directions.