You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 45: Only three items [answer and win hive]

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

A couple of good items although in the situation I describe I'm not sure a phone will be of much use. Still, if powered and there's a cell network you could google survival I suppose.

I'm a western civ guy, and I'm not prepared at all! I should do some research on preparedness now.

Preparedness is paramount mate...Think about Hattie having an accident with me first aid kit close by or the ability to use it. Think about a fire in the house with no evacuation plan, extinguisher or fire blanket. Think about a vehicle accident and your inability to exit the car - A situation a $20 ResQMe seat belt cutter/glass breaker can solve. Think about you in the mall with a rogue shooter and no idea where the emergency exits were, or how to create a smoke screen to conceal your exit (Pop a dry powder fire extinguisher is the way). A little situational awareness goes a long way. Can't happen? Won't? Tell that that to all those who it has happened to.

Preparedness isn't spider holes and 3500 lbs of rise stored in the garage...It breaks down to very small things that can help mitigate the adverse effects of every day life.

Just think about it, do some googling and make some adjustments. You may someday come to be very thankful you did.

P.s. Leave the Beatles records mate, There's more important things...Your Taylor Swift collection for instance!

!ENGAGE 20

Sort:  

yeah I agree; if you don't get in the mindset or get the discipline, you forget about this sort of thing as the routine of daily life wears you down. I'll will make it a point to start digging a bit more on this - thanks!

Ugh, don't even mention Taylor Swift. First it was her news and the Beatles, then Doge went nutzo - I don't even know this world anymore :(

Lol re: Tay tay comment.

Hey quick side question...you said this was a good one to get for the Lego sets, right?

https://www.lego.com/en-us/product/4x4-x-treme-off-roader-42099

I saw some negative reviews but I thought you had recommended it to us earlier in the month - thx!

I have only one word in response to this question:

Get on it bro, it's a good set.

Ok, maybe more than one word. Lol.

I built it and enjoyed it.

Sweet, thanks! On it!

It's not an overly technical build but the motors and controllability make it fun. It can also be geared down lower with a simple change so it can climb better.

I think Hattie and I will love working on this (ok, more me, maybe). She's a builder, already, and I think she is going to love this too