WE84: MY MUSIC, MY LIFE

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

Special shout out to @galenkp for this challenge. I am excited about my first post on the community

Option 1 : “Ye” by Burna Boy
Ye was released from the Outside Album in 2018 by Grammy award winning Nigerian singer Burna Boy, it was produced by Phantom at a music studio in a club popularly called Quilox in Nigeria.

IMG-20220115-WA0002.jpg
[Source]

The music itself is based on the phrase “Ye”. Phantom the producer claims that he made the beats in less than two hours, using only a kick, piano synths and a few snares, the bomb of the song was the vocal sampled on top of the track, with an addition of his wailing cry which transformed Ye into a modern day national anthem we deserve.

IMG-20220115-WA0001.jpg

IMG-20220115-WA0000.jpg
[Source]

Ye reflects an average Nigerian dealing with average Nigerian difficulties; of a culture where nothing changes because everyone is too busy seeking for ways to save themselves. Nobody wants to suffer or die without reaping the full benefits of their existence and myself is no different than any other Nigerian in this category, whose biggest desires are somewhere between fortune accumulation and achieving personal success at all costs.

Option 2: “My Little Love” by Adele
After a long wait, Adele finally released her fourth studio album titled “30” and My Little Love is the third track on the album, which is my absolute best. The song shows an honest conversation between Adele and her son Angelo backed with voice-notes of Adele expressing grief, loneliness over her
relationship with her son due to her divorce and I could have a feel of what those emotions might have been for my mom who could not goodbye to her son before she passed on during a boat accident.

IMG-20220115-WA0003.jpg
[Source]

When I listen to the song, it feels as though I had a chance to listen to my mom tell me about “How much she misses me” or “How sad she is not being with me on Earth” and “How she loves me so much and would have loved to be with me”.

Option 3 : I believe the best concert I have been to was an “End of Year Praise Concert” in 2021. It is an event that gathers a lot of people from far and wide across my region in Nigeria, It was an all-night praise and worship service featuring different gospel musicians and bands ranging from hymns to praises and cultural worships. At 12 am, We all celebrated the New Year with light fireworks

IMG-20220114-WA0000.jpg
Source: My Gallery

Option 4: I used to be a member of The Church Choir were I sang Bass for a couple of years but my voice
got chaotic with time ( I could switch keys and sound so funny). Singing is not for me. Also tried playing the drums was going well but school work took my time

Option 5: "20:10:2020" by Burna Boy
There are a lot struggles we face in our region, we have against the systems of oppression. The song 20:10:20 was released to criticize the Special Anti-Robbery Squad popularly called SARS in Nigeria for their police brutality.

IMG-20220115-WA0004.jpg

IMG-20220115-WA0005.jpg
Source: My gallery

Some many Nigerian youths hit the streets of different cities in the country to “SAY ENOUGH IS ENOUGH” and that Police Brutality must end, but sadly not everyone made it back from the Lekki Toll Gate with security personnel firing at unarmed protesters exercising their rights. The song was produced by The Element, it started off with a basic melody line to grab your attention. The lyrics speaks directly to our countrymen calling out corruption, god-fatherism and our appalling youth employment rates, also inserting audios of the gunshots and wailing of the youths at the toll gate.

REST IN POWER KINGS AND QUEENS🕊🕊🕊

Option 6 : I would gift “Ojuelegba by Wizkid” to my good friend and brother @barry405

The Grammy singer gives a “rags to riches” narrative in Ojuelegba, expressing the journey through sadness, hardship, toiling, working and hustling so hard on the streets of Lagos, it is a celebration of a specular ascension in the music industry.

IMG-20220115-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20220115-WA0006.jpg
[Source]

The Spiritual Element in the song makes it very appealing to a
wide range of audiences making it a street anthem for inspiring myself and @barry405 into pushing hard, getting our goals and believing that the Almighty is always watching

Thanks for sharing in my musical journey