You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 71: The animal in you

Well, I am pro spaying and neutering for sure because, in the long run, it saves cats a lot of heartache, and, in the short run, although it seems a perplexing experience for them, it only seems mildly traumatizing (compared to, say, drowning a litter of kittens, which is what used to take place, and is unconscionable). As a woman, I know many women who have had hysterectomies, which is the same as spaying a cat. I think it would be nicer if the vet could do a tubal ligation for the girl cats and a vasectomy for the boys. More humane. However, I am not a vet, so there might be some technical surgical challenges of which I am unaware. If I were a man, I don't think I would want to be neutered.

Sort:  

Spaying and neutering are really needed. Even if a person plans on keeping their pet indoors, accidents do happen and pets do get out. If a person wants a new pet it really is not hard to find one to adopt.