You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 68: Phone photos or make a meme

So beautiful, but so cold! I live in Alberta, Canada, and it's bad enough! I went to Alaska about 20 years ago. We drove up. We camped. It was June.

The things that stood out to me were:

  1. The unspoiled nature. I hope it is still like that. It is amazing.
  2. The roads were insanely bad! The roads in the Yukon were okay, but as soon as we crossed into Alaska, nightmare. Lol.
  3. The time of year that we went, it was day all the time! That was magical.
  4. Some towns were so small. They were on the map because there was a gas station, but basically the gas station was the town.

I wonder whether it has changed much. I don't think I would enjoy the 24 hour darkness and the extreme cold of winter. I can barely stand our six months of winter. Maybe Anchorage would not be so bad, being on the ocean, but it would still be so dark in the winter!

Sort:  
  1. Still pretty much true.
  2. Some roads have been somewhat fixed, but most roads are still dirt and gravel
  3. June is still one of the nicest months to visit.
  4. Some towns have grown, most have not, and still a lot of here is some gas or a place to sleep towns.

I drove back up about 5 years ago after leaving Alaska for a few years, there really was not much change at all.