You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 68: Phone photos or make a meme

This is a photo of an original painting by the Canadian indigenous artist Clemence Westcoupe on my messy bed. My mother, who passed away a couple of years ago, loved his work, and bought two of his paintings, even though she could ill afford them at the time. I saw these in her home all my life and they remind me of her, her love of beauty, and her generosity of spirit.

This photo was taken last month after I had the frame restored on the painting because it was my sister's birthday. She lives in Florida. Both the frame restoration and the shipping were insanely expensive and we had to find a box in which to ship it, a further expense. However, it was worth it because my sister was delighted. These paintings bring back many memories of times spent with Mom. I thought it was very appropriate that we should each have one.

I still have to hang mine. Looking at it still brings tears to my eyes, but I try to focus on the positive memories, and I think having this painting around will help me to do that. I found out that the artist passed away the year before my mother did. Selling the paintings briefly occurred to me, but I realized that, while I am generally not attached to material things, these are too precious to me to sell. It was a sacrifice to send one to my sister. She is as entitled to it as I am, but, living so far away, she would probably never have said anything.

Still, I love her and I wanted her to also have this tangible reminder of Mom. Mom was a special person. She was a teacher and touched many lives. For part of her career, she taught ESL, and she taught me from a young age to be sensitive to the multiple cultures that surround us here. That is embodied in her love of indigenous art also. I miss her a lot.

(My comments are crazy long today... apologies. Some days are like that. Congratulations if you read all of this.)

img_0.45904602599289906.jpg

Sort:  

Art always conveys a story, this looks warm and comforting. Nice way to remember you Mom.

Thank you. It's interesting how we make associations, isn’t it?

Yup, each holds something that reminds them.

😂 They are crazy long but congrats to me indeed. That painting is beautiful and I felt a bit emotional when you said it reminds you of your mum.

So sorry about your mum 🥺

@merit.ahama Thank you. It was devastating to lose her even though she had dementia and strokes and was not doing well. I miss her every day.

Oh dear, that's a lot to deal with... It's hard not to miss a very dear one

It's nice to have some memories of your mother and it was a nice gesture to restore one and send it to your sister.

My dad was an artist, passed away last year, and all of us, his five children, have some of his artwork hanging in our homes. It's a nice way to feel a little closer to him and remember the good times. Thanks for sharing.

I'm sorry to hear about your Dad. That is a very personal and wonderful way to remember him, by his art.

Long comments don't bother me in the least. It is nice to have a few things, or that one special thing that reminds you of growing up, and to share them with sisters or other family.

I think it is very important to share with family. I know some families fight over inheritance or heirlooms. My sister and I had a reverse fight (although not a serious one). We each wanted the other to have more, for one reason or another. It is good to have such a kind sister.

Yes sometime inheritance can make or break family ties.

Ohhhhh. The painting is glorious and the attending story even more so.

Thank you. Glorious. What a beautiful word.

Art is beautiful. I love this art bit art dont love me.