You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 71: The animal in you

It's funny, isn't it? When I was afraid of dogs, I was afraid of even tiny little chihuahuas. And now, they all seem like puppies.

I went to tutor at a large house that was protected by guard dogs. My student had forgotten we had a lesson, and I didn't realize that this was the sort of large house where you cannot just walk up to the door. It was a mansion sort of house, protected by "vicious" attack dogs.

I walked through the gate and up to the door. The dogs barked at me. "PUPPIES!" I said happily, oblivious. They watched me.

I was less happy when I realized no one was home. I turned to the dogs, "Are they seriously not home? Do you think they forgot I was coming?" I said.

I noticed that one of the dogs was quite scarred and only had one eye. He had clearly been in some fights. With whom, I wondered. That is when it occurred to me that these might not be pets but guard dogs.

"Are you scary guard dogs?" I said. The dogs looked puzzled. Animals usually sense that I mean no harm, so I can understand their confusion. On the one hand, they have a job to do, but on the other hand, I was clearly not a threat.

"Well let your owners know I stopped by. You are very good puppies!"

That is seriously what happened.

I didn't go back because the students' parents did not see why they should pay the cancellation fee. I guess that's how they got so rich? Lol. I don't know. They were reluctantly willing to pay it, but I was not desperate enough to deal with their nonsense. I am way off topic as usual.

Sort:  

Well that's an excellent way to deal with them.

I did canvassing for the Sierra Club and ended up with a clipboard. Ironically when we switched to these palm pilots it ended up getting some of my crew bit. I still carried the clipboard and never had an issue.

But then again I'm always able to see dog sign and that situational awareness pays off.