You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 71: The animal in you

Omg! She is so sweet. I thought she might be a ragdoll. I can't believe you successfully performed emergency surgery on her! Crazy!!! That botfly sounds horrifying. I am so glad she made it. Cats can be unbelievably resilient.

It's funny. My partner was NOT interested in getting a cat and we only got Louie because I was so depressed and he knew how much I love cats. However, Louie, with his big blue eyes, became my partner's buddy. And he (my partner) has thanked me more than once for bringing the joy and love of these cats into our lives.

I feel a bit guilty when he thanks me because it was purely selfish on my part. Lol. I love them so much.

Whenever I am very down, the cats always make it better. Maybe not 100%, but they help in a way nothing and no one else can.

Sort:  

Yes You are soooo right. This kitty Sammi Jo changed both our lives. Kudos to my @pooky-jax for seeing this as it was happening and letting Sammi Jo have the human that she wanted to bond with. Cats truely do choose the people they want.

sammi5.jpg

A7.jpg

2 years later, we got a chocolate point that @pooky-jax fell in love with at first site. Our boy Jax lives for her. I could not even touch him. It took me 5 long years of patience and soft words to finally get him to come to me, accept and love on me.

Jax & Kelly (6).jpg

My wife got her soul mate cat after sharing and enjoying my transformation to what @dandays called me...

"A Catlady in a Mansuit..."

I still am LoL at that comment of his. Funny and also a little bit true I guess? I will own it, cuz I sure do love my best friend Sammi Jo.!!

Now that I did say, "guilty as charged!"

I never told you about my last cat, Pico, that was short for Roscoe Pico Train. Dope ass cat dude, a Manx. I was probably 20 when he died. Crazy ass story, he died the same night as my grandfather, that was a trip considering he lived with my grandparents several times I bounced around from wherever to somewhere else. Funny... my grandfather "hated" cats. That's funny.

A survivor, too. One time the bastard supposed to watch the house didn't when we were on vacation, I was just a kid. The other cat starved to death, he was Himalayan. Not Pico though. He got outside at some point and fended for himself that month.

That cat was dope dude, he came when you called him and could open door handles.

You likely won't find this surprising but I could easily go off another thousand words right now.

If I ever get off the road, and have more time to share. I will have a few dogs again. Probably Siberian Huskies. I miss them. I too have hurt just as badly over the loss of my dogs, as if they were a family member. It still amazes me sometimes, that I can feel this way about a cat. But You read the Sammi Jo rescue story. So you get it right?