Are You Trying to Clip My Wings? (The Weekend Prompt 84)

In a world of crabs in a bucket-where instead of hoisting your fellow crabs up, you pull them down every time they try to reach for freedom, a song that moves me more than most is "Defying Gravity" from the musical, Wicked.
image.png
unsplash image

There was a lot of buzz about the musical, Wicked several years back when masks were only worn to masquerades and they certainly didn't cover your mouth. I went to see what the buzz was about and fell in love with the music. The second most listened to station on my list of Pandora stations is my "Defying Gravity" station. The music speaks to me because I feel all about me there are people who mean well, but are consumed with jealousy if you happen to make a stride in the direction toward your own version of freedom. In my case, I crave financial freedom. What I find in this song is that it starts with a somewhat shy-ish girl who is starting to make strides on her own and by the end of the song shouts (singing-wise) that no one can bring her down! I relate to that.

Throughout my life, I have heard, "You can do anything you put your mind to" but then I have seen the populace turn into mind-numbed, television program absorbing lemmings. I mean no disrespect. I just mean it seems like conversation is always about what have you seen recently, rather than what have you done. When someone finds out that I have started writing a book, built a couple houses, earned my degrees in 'record' time, all while maintaining a blog and a large family, they usually say, "Where do you find the time?" I find it when others are watching TV...that's the truth.

I kinda went on a rant there, but I know that when I hear this song, it is a "song [I] love, that moves [me], and makes [me] feel deeply." (The Weekend Prompt)

When you hear it, what comes to your mind?

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @haveyaheard.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more