You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 13: Ask me anything

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago

You know i struggled with this question myself. For many its a subjective truth. The answer for me came when i was engaged to a woman and helping to raise her child for some time. I had purpose. A reason. That was my meaning of life. To give to others. To help a new soul grow into this world as best as i could and to be as supportive a husband as i could to my partner. Giving more love than receiving.

To me thats the meaning of my life. From a biological standpoint it makes a lot of srnse too

Sort:  

Hey Dave! I was sure that other people thought about this. Your story is beautiful, I think that helping a child grow into an adult is one of the most beautiful gifts someone can give to another human being. It is indeed just the epitome of kindness.

Being a great husband is one of the vital things inside a marriage. Actually, I strongly believe that the partner comes first and if the relationship is nurtured by both of them, the kid(s) will benefit enormously.

I think that the meaning of life is strongly connected with finding a purpose. That "something" which makes you wake up with a smile in the morning every single day. Your calling. I feel that the meaning of life = the listening of one's calling.
Thank you for reading and have a beautiful weekend!

Thank you @creativemary! I agree with you. It was one thing i learned when i was acting as the boys father and trying to raise him. I had never really discovered who i truly was before then. I discovered that i was capable of giving tremendous love and that deep down i was a good person and that doing good for others or a cause made me feel complete and whole. That little boy taught me the greatest lesson i will ever learn in my life

Nice answer and another example of how the answer is something only one can answer for themself. 🙂

Yeah the meaning of life is very personal and different for everyone. For me its serving others and or a greater cause. Paying it forward for other peoples benefit. I learned this and have actually started thinking of going a totally different direction career wise in my life.

We all have the ability to choose how we think and act, seems like you've chosen a righteous path. 🙂

I'm trying. I have a long way to go before i feel whole again

You'll get there, you know why? Because you're talking about it, thinking about it and want it. That's the vehicle to take you there.