You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Hobbies

Your reference to fly fishing made me remember Norman Maclean's A River Runs through it. I read it in grad school and made me see fishing with different eyes.
I did my fair share of river fishing as I grew up, but we used worms or other small fish as bait, nets, or just bare hands for certain kinds of fish. It was just about catching meat for breakfast or lunch.
Maclean turns it into a philosophical exploration of life and our place in it.
I think that a hobby is an activity we pursue with passion and dedication even if far from being paid for it we spend considerable amounts of time and money on it.

Sort:  

A River Runs Through It was pretty good on the fishing part and excellent overall. They used silk lines and cane poles. My mentor made me use a silk line and cane rod once in a while just so I'd know where it came from. That was really hard to do well.

I think that a hobby is an activity we pursue with passion and dedication even if far from being paid for it we spend considerable amounts of time and money on it.

I think that is a really good definition. Thank you for it.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.