Disclosing Punjab Mela :A cultural event of punjab.

in Weekend Experiences β€’ 3 months ago (edited)

Helloww..!!πŸ™‹πŸ»β€β™€οΈ

Whether you stumbled upon this blog by chance or you're a returning reader, I extend my warmest greetings to each and every one of you.

Do you guys find weekends relaxing?

I personally find them very peaceful. As a university student, it's a time when I can unwind. The exhaustion of the whole week fades away. There's no need to follow any hectic routines, and one isn't bound by anything specific. We can spend our time according to our own preferences.

Our university is famous for its functions. Almost every day, there is some event happening at our university. Since we have students from all cultures, every group organizes some event every week. This weekend, the Punjabi students organized their cultural event called "Punjab Mela." Mela holds significant importance in Punjabi culture. Now, let me tell you what happens at this event.

The event was actually set up at the university football ground, where stalls were arranged on all four sides offering various items. One side had a stage set up for the performance by the Music Society members, and in one corner, there was a pirate ship ride.



When we visited the location in the morning, there were many Punjabi cultural activities taking place. Firstly, they were celebrating Basant, during which kites are flown. This is a favorite pastime among Punjabis.




After that, horses were made to dance, which was very enjoyable to watch. The horses were adorned beautifully. This activity is mostly done at Punjabi weddings and is a very old tradition of Punjab.



At one corner, there was a guy playing a beautiful flute. The flute is a traditional musical instrument of Punjab, and people love to listen to it and get engrossed in its music.



The person playing the flute was dressed perfectly in Punjab's traditional costume, representing the essence of the region.

The real excitement came after this when the dhol(drum) was played. It's the favorite thing of Punjabis. The dhol players create such a rhythm that the people around can't help but start dancing.



The morning activities concluded there. Later in the evening, when we returned, a beautiful entrance had been set up.




There were many new stalls. We first went to the sweets stall where there were doughnuts and waffles. I bought a waffle which was very delicious. The cookies were also very tempting. My friend bought cookies in two flavors which were very moist and tasty.





Moving on, we reached the snacks stall. Seeing the nimco there brought back nostalgic feelings as I hadn't seen such well-prepared nimco trays in a long time. There was also an orange juice stall next to it. I wanted to have juice but the owner of the stall was nowhere to be found, so I gave up on the idea.





Further ahead, in the middle, there was a popcorn and cotton candy stall, but no one besides me seemed interested in buying from there, maybe they didn't like cotton candy.



Then, my attention was caught by a jewelry stall. As a girl, I couldn't resist and went to have a look. There were beautiful jewelry pieces like earrings, bracelets, rings, necklaces, and bangles. I bought a pair of small earrings from there which I don't know when I'll wear.







Next to this stall, there was a stall selling colorful clothes. The bright colors were pleasing to the eyes, but I couldn't buy anything from there.



After a while, the music event started, and we got lost in the singer's voice, which was very melodious.




There were charpaiyaas placed in front of the stage. For those who don't know, a charpai is a Punjabi-style bed, which is preferred for sleeping in Punjab and is found in every household.



The cold was increasing, and there was only one solution, and that was tea. I bought tea which was served in a very cute clay pot.



As we were drinking tea, it was time to leave. I took the last snap in the ground, which was of my tea. I hope you enjoyed this event virtually.

I will continue to share more joyfull events with you people.And for more content and to hear the melodious voice of singers ,do watch my video.You won't regrett it.

See you soon.
Take care till then.!!

Sort: Β 

Oh wow! So many events during the week! Everyone looks forward after a week full of activities.
In my own case, during my university days, the kind of events you described here are usually held during the weekends, though not all the time.
And this is my first time learning that horses can be made to dance! I think I will have to search for videos so I can watch something like that, haha.

Beautiful pictures you shared. Must have been an enjoyable time for you.

I'm glad you enjoyed the events !! Watching horses dance can indeed be quite fascinating. and Yes that was quite an enjoyable moment..

Same here, I also find weekend relaxing as I don't need to wake up early.
Also, could have some relaxation

Yes exactly,it's so relaxing.

I can feel the joy of Mela and you have described it in a really beautiful way. Good Job.

`


Want to Know more about Hivepakistan?

Ping Us On Hive Pakistan Discord server

To support HivePakistan, delegate Hive Power to hivepakistan and earn 90% curation reward :)

Here are some handy links for delegation


| 50 HP | 100 HP |500 HP | 1000 HP | 5000 HP | 10000 HP | 20000 HP |

A delegation of 500 or more HP makes you earn Hivepakistan supporter badge.


`

Thank youπŸ’—

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

I remember visiting this mela with you where u were extremely enthusiastic clicking every single sight of This πŸ˜‚β™₯️.
Keep it up girl πŸ₯°

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…yeah because i have to share the sights with my hive fellows.

Is that top photo of the pirate ride supposed to look like this? My neck got sore looking at it from the correct perspective hahaha!!!
One question I have is why would anyone set a bed in front of the stage??? Is there a hidden meaning there?
Also, are all Pakistanis allergic to cotton candy??? Seems like a sin hahahaha!!!
This is a beautiful post and shows how much fun you really seemed to have at this event, and well documented!

is that top photo of the pirate ride

Yes. It is, have you ever taken one?

My neck got sore looking at it

Ah, I will correct the angle now. And also if you had tilted your mobile a bit your neck might not have gotten sore. Haha

Those beds are there for the VIPs so that they don't have to stand. Like the organisers of the event..

Not everyone is allergic but mostly adults don't like it. It is famous among children here.

Thank you so much for noticing the minor details and liking my blog

I am on a rather large gaming computer, so tilting the screen is a little difficult hahahahahaha!!! Don't want any other older people getting crinks in their neck turning their heads sideways hahahahaha!!! Nice job, looks fantastic!

Oh I didn't know you were sitting in front of a computer otherwise I must not have said that🀣

Thanks.

Oh, I missed that day.... I could not go there on the day when Horses danced. I want to see that Ghora Nach.

Well, I went there on second day. There were kites sailing high in the sky.There were many Gol Gappazzzz but my pocket was empty like my empty stomach.... Hmmmm. SO YOU CAN UNDERSTAND πŸ˜‚

πŸ˜‚..it seems like you enjoyed the delicious street food despite having an empty pocket.

Too many functions arranged in a last weak by cultural societies. But, this one made up a unique place.
When I went up there, I love the sky full of kites.

Surely punjabis have their own charm

Congratulations @inshalicious! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!