Something I'm Changing | Weekend Engagement #163

Hello, everyone!

Hope you're doing fine. I've heard that the heat is rising horribly in some parts of the world, so try to keep safe and hydrated.

Before the weekend ends, I want to share some of my thoughts about a topic in the #weekend-engagement.

I chose to write about Making Change, so let's go.

Something I'm Changing.

As you may know, I'm thirty years old. So, I've been in this world for a while. During my childhood I've been learned much about forgiveness. But I've to say: forgiveness is a hard task.

While growing up, my mom who was the one raising my sisters and I, tried to teach us about forgiveness in our family. And I say "tried" because it's not something we do to the letter.

IMG_20230716_172320.jpg

I've seen a lot of damage done in my family from family members. But my mom insisted on passing her mother's learning. She was told that she must forgive her siblings no matter how bad they hurt her, that they're her family, they are her sisters and brothers and they must stay together no matter what.

And she tries to teach us that, but I just can't stand up to that. I can't stay beside someone who hurts me. I don't care if it's any of my sisters. This is a new era, and we must learn about our own emotional and sentimental healthcare. I can't forgive someone who caused me pain, who attempted to damage me mentally and physically.

20200814_093751.jpg

And I try to give it another perspective, but it is like putting the other cheek. I try to stay away from those people. In my family there's bad people, and they've done a lot of bad things to my mom, and I. So I don't talk to them, I don't look for them and I try to keep my distance as much as I can. And I say to my mom all the time that she is the one who must make a change. She must learn that no one is perfect, but we can't forgiveness all the time because there are ones whom don't deserve it.

So, I know I'm not perfect and I try be loyal, be a good friend, sister and daughter, but we must put boundaries also. We can forgive, but we can't forget.

FB_IMG_16205705952430448.jpg

Thanks for reading, guys.