When I lived I died. Week 130 weekend engagement concept.

To be alive is to take a risk and nothing taking a risk is the greatest risk great risk takers take.

It's cultural here in Nigeria that the extended family system works and parents with a large number of children can release their child to live with a relative who could help train the child. Most times, the parents could still allow the child to also live with anyone within the neighborhood as much as the load is reduced from the immediate family. This can also come in the form of apprenticeship.

poster_2022-12-04-103629.png

I wanted to have a wider experience.

There was this family I so much admired back in 1995 I was 10 years old. I told my parents to speak to this family of my interest of living with them since they needed a young boy around as the man and his wife where advanced in age.

My stood against my decision but pleaded and the family also came and made a million promise of how nicely I will be treated if I live with them. My dad give in of course a poor man without education.

In a new home.

It's a journey on foot through the bush paths crossing three local streams and a journey which lasted about three and half hours . Very excited, I didn't feel the distance. And in my new home, I felt very comfortable having everything at my beck and call, I was enrolled into a private school where I met children from wealthy homes unlike the public school I came from.

One year and two months.

After about a year and two months in this new home I started noticing some unusual things in my room every night. I go to bed and lock my room but I will wake up to see my room wide open and from the bed I will be on the floor. How I'm to understand what situation I am in.
In this period when I see my parents I will hide and since I can't explain my fear, I decided to die so I can be free.

My definition of death.

To die , I stopped eating food from the house and I won't eat food any where and it seemed no one noticed how slowly I was dying safe one of my aunties who told my parents of you sold your son to slavery please tell us we contribute to redeem him because the boy is dying young . I came to know about this statement 2 years when I have returned back home.

I didn't eat in this hell home for two weeks yet doing my task. What is my problem I can't explain but just to die is all I asked for.

At midnight I called for death.

It was a Thursday night at a time I know not but everyone had gone to bed and everywhere silent and I decided to match to my father's house and die there since my parents couldn't come to take me 😿😿😿.

Taking up the journey back home at that off hour not minding the three streams I'm to cross which had no bridges and through the thick forest and the terror of been eaten by wild beast was better than dying in a strange land.

After the first stream.

I had passed through the first stream and like a flash, I noticed movements and then I was jacked up in real life though I couldn't shout not resist but I only could remember been brought to the house w he ere I'm running from. It never took long it was day break. Who brought me back I didn't know and where are you coming from no one asked.

Defeat happens only to those who refuse to try again.

~ Nick Vujicic

Now it's very clear that my life is in peril and yet no one cares . It's on the 13th of my no food. Yes, my food is always served but I know didn't eat it. I saw my death in everything. So I wasn't ready to die outside my home.
And this time, I have kept time in my room and this day I overslept and something tapped on me to awake and I checked the time it's past 2 am and I heard by 3:35 you will die. Immediately I jumped through the back window, and decided not to use the road this time but walked through the farms till I got to where there were on houses and I then used the main road not afraid of wild beasts nor been killed on way.

My parents woke to see me sleeping.

When father and mother came to prepare for farm, they saw someone sleeping outside and yes it's me. And till my foster parents all passed on they never came to as why I left at such an odd hours.

Reward.

The reason for my sudden hatred for the man and his wife is what by my own imagination I can't say. And four days later man's last daughter shouted uncontrollably and since that year till date she has been on chains because she lost her senses and she's very hostile.

Taking to the woods and passing through the streams at the dead of the night and being mentally sound and alive to give this as a submission to @galenkp weekend engagement contest to read more about this contest here's the link
Of the topics for the weekend engagement concept, Risk and Reward beckons on me.

Sort:  

Why are you self-voting? It's not very good form you know.

I really don't know about this. My wrong I will stop. Thanks for the correction. My apologies.

Your posts will be voted upon by your peers, the community, based on their thoughts and feeling about them. You should use your upvotes in support of the community rather than yourself. It seems rather selfish to me to consistently vote for yourself, don't you think?

I upvote others as well I felt I was doing the right thing. Now that I have learned not upvote myself, I won't repeat it never. Thanks for putting me through this is the biggest support for me this month I see this correction as a gift . Thanks so much.

I sent this post to curangel prior to realising you self-vote which annoyed me. It'll not happen again, I'll check.

There is no rule against self-voting and you can do it if you like. Just like there is no rule against downvoting those who self-vote, and people will do it if they like.

It will not repeat it.
Thanks for putting me through.

Good plan. I like to point things out to people, help them understand, but ultimately the decision of what to do or what not to do is up to the individual.

Congratulations @iykewatch12! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 2
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the last day of the group stage.
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!