Starting Anew On Hive, Will It Make Things Better?

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

May 7, 2022

Hello Hivers and The Weekend Community!! Happy weekend to everyone.

First of all, @galenkp seems to have read my mind as his current prompt certainly fits what I've been mulling over recently. Of course, I know the answer to my question, but was it a coincidence? It's funny though. At least, I could express these thoughts through this weekend engagement.

20220507_121254_0000.png

What if I start anew here on Hive? Will it make things better?

You probably are curious about why I want to start anew.

It's been almost two years since writing became my forte. This became my way of expressing my thoughts and emotions, especially when I have no one to talk to in the real world. It's tough to process these preoccupied thoughts and boring to be alone in my workplace most of the time, and I found another world in blogging. Since then, blogging platforms have been places to spend my spare time while learning and earning.

I started my journey on Leofinance a year ago and it was quite tough. The place seems to be a hub for different crypto enthusiasts and individuals in the financial aspect. And I thought, only crypto-related articles were accepted. I did post some articles during the first week, but it was tough to interact with others as I can't relate to their posts. Then I stopped posting on Leofinance.

Screenshot_20220506_174802.jpg

My attention was diverted here on Hive because of some friends from another platform. I thought it was best to extend my blogging journey to another platform to build a better account. But busyness would sometimes hit me badly and I wasn't able to manage all online side-hustles so I opted to give up some, that includes Hive. But then some friends kept posting about this platform so I decided to come back.

It's been a few months now since I opted to be active on this platform, because why not? It's another opportunity that I shouldn't miss. This is not just a place to showcase our writings and our creative minds, but also a place to meet different enthusiasts from different parts of the world. Besides, there are a plethora of communities to choose from where my content fits.

During the past few months of spending some time here, I met other writers and acquired a few followers through interacting with different users aside from the existing ones I met from another platform. I felt happy when getting decent tips from known users like ocdb, blocktrades, appreciator, and more. I felt like my content was worth writing and the feeling of being appreciated is truly overwhelming. As time goes by, my reputation becomes higher as well. Although not as high as others, still better than before.

But not all days were happy days as I also experienced some bad days. One time I got muted from a community as I didn't read the rules before joining in. I thought it was for everyone as I was seeing my friends there. Until one of the moderators commented on my post and told me about it, then muted me right away. It was a bit harsh though as I didn't even receive a warning before being muted. Gladly, one of the moderators is friendly and she unmuted me. They thought I was too young for the community so I opted to just leave and respected their decision.

Things get smoothly thereafter. I may not be as known as others and don't receive huge tips like others, but I am dedicated to this passion and I value my few readers as well. And those who know me from other platforms could attest to this.

I am not so active at all times though as I also have some priorities, and blogging is not my top one. Despite the busyness, I always spend some time each day visiting this platform and engaging with others. And there are a lot of communities here so only a few are being visited each day unless I have more time to slack online.

But seems like a moderator from a certain community didn't like me being inactive and he opted to mute me as well. He even called me post dumper even if I'm not, as I always find time to interact with other Hivers. Maybe what he meant was to interact more with other members of that community. I do interact with a few members, especially with my co-Filipinos. I asked for an apology but it was not accepted I guess. I want to ask for a second chance but I can't reply to his comment anymore.

I know it was my fault for not interacting more with other members of the community. I know it was my fault not to read the rules of the certain community before joining in, and so these two have muted me. For others, this probably is just a simple issue that is not worth minding, but for me, it is something I should be concerned about as I know that it will affect my reputation and other moderators might think that I am a real spammer here because of being muted multiple times.

But one thing that is a bit harsh here is the way other moderators mute users that easily without giving them warnings or whatsoever. I know they have reputations to maintain for the community, but just one warning is enough I guess? Why mute right away? Unless proven spammer. I guess we could see if a user is a spammer or not interacting through the profile. And is there no second chance here?

But then I just handled it positively and learned lessons from these incidents. At least, I know what better things to do to avoid this unfavorable circumstance from happening again. Or else, I'll be doomed on this platform. Although I felt like those higher names have ignored me after this incident. But I didn't mind, and just continued writing and interacting.

However, it is worth noting that not all can handle constructive criticism in blogging positively. What if others take it seriously? And be demotivated to pursue their passion for writing. A little consideration and friendliness is necessary here I guess? We can maintain our reputations in a fair and friendly manner. Whether you are a community founder, a moderator, or simply a writer, don't be so harsh.

With the circumstances I experienced recently, I thought of creating a new account. But then again, I also thought it would be harder. Besides, I already acquired a few followers and met new people here. A friend of mine told me that I don't need to do that as I already had a good start.

Maybe I just need to do things differently.

Screenshot_2022_0506_172457.jpg

I will not make a new account but would make a new approach. And there's only one way to grow our account here, and that is through interaction and making more quality content. Taking different challenges would also help us build a better reputation and acquire more readers. I recently joined Dreemport and it did help me acquire more readers.
Probably, 100 weeks from now, I'll have a higher reputation and more followers, and maybe higher rewards? I am curious though, does delegating help us get higher tips?

As a writer, tips alone are not what matters more, but having more readers. Because what's the point of writing if we don't have readers anyway? Again, we can only achieve that through interaction.


This content is more likely a rant not an entry to this #communityengagement, lol.
If @galenkp will accept this as one, I would be glad. If it doesn't meet the criteria, then just consider this as a random one 🙂. I just actually want to express this feeling through writing as I can't just vent it out to the wall, lol.
So pardon me if this is nonsensical to you.

Still, thanks for this prompt and for stopping by.

Sort:  

Hi jane, I enjoyed reading your post. I had read your comment before about you being silenced in a community. I am particularly rebellious and the rules prevent me from going from one place to another.
I like to write and leave posts in one place and in another. Sometimes I seem to be wasting my time because there is no response of good or bad but here I am. I keep on doing it. I keep writing and doing what I like, at some point I will find commentators or direct repudiators of my way of writing.
Or however there are communities where everyone is very friendly and have always been friends with those of us who post and there are others where they have rules and I don't go there.
I think I was born a rebel and I will die a rebel and now this is me. And I like it. I write where they open doors for me and where they don't, they don't know I exist. And that's fine with me too.

You don't seem like a rebel to me Gertu 😁..you are like a sweet mother.. But thank you.. I guess we just need to adjust according to the community's guidelines 😁..

Ahh thank you my dear friend. That's right, be happy with what you have. A hug.

@jane1289, actually one of the conditions of this prompt was to limit word-count to 500 otherwise I had so much to say about this topic that I could write a book. I hope you have come fully back because I am seeing you active for last couple of days, thanks.

Hey @rayt2, actually the 500 word limit was for the words on my #weekend-engagement concept and not for this prompt per @galenkp. So she followed the rules accordingly ;)

Thank you.. But it's also fine if this will not be included in the entries. I just wrote this to express my thoughts 🙂. Thanks

No problem. Just wanted to clarify that it was okay for you to write more than 500 words for this one. 😉

@crosheille that's okay, I was talking about @galenkp prompt for this week, cheers!

Oh, actually this confused me perhaps @crosheille because he often restricts us writing more than 500 words.

💯 500 words on my #weekend-engagement concept
In 500 words or less explain what you like, or don't like, about the #weekend-engagement blog prompts concept I have devised and present each week.

It's cool, I get it. I just wanted to mention it was okay for her to do more than 500 words for this one ;)

Cheers!

That was the other prompt I guess. And it's actually fine if this will be counted. I just want to write 😁

I am sure it will be counted and it did! All the best!

Thank you

Loading...

I am glad you expressed what you were feeling because it’s good to get those feelings out. I’m also glad you decided not to start over. Trust me, there were many times back then when I got discouraged and wanted to either leave or start over due to unwanted responses or people being rude. I had to shake that off and realize one or two people doesn’t account for the whole platform. Although someone may mute me that doesn’t mean no one wants to listen to me.

I see that you realize now it’s a Must to read the rules as guidelines of every community before posting. Some people get flagged for using irrelevant tags because they think they mean something but didn’t research to find out what they should be used for. I made it a habit to always know as much as I can before posting anywhere and that made all the difference.

Time and effort is what will allow you to see a change. Continue posting quality, commenting and responding and most of all having fun and the rest will eventually follow.

In the community I founded I do give warnings before muting and also in the communities I work in we too give a warning. Everyone operates in different ways but one things for sure, I try to do everything in a kind and respectful way. I know how I feel when people are short and rude with me so I do the opposite and have a more gentle approach.

Either way, as long as you know your worth and know that you are creating an impact on others continue on and be confident in that. I believe you will do better with knowing the rules and taking your time to familiarize yourself with things before you interact ;)

I’ve enjoyed reading your posts and seeing all of your beautiful photos. You definitely have my continued support :)

Stay encouraged hun ~ 💓

Thank you so much 🥰. Your comments always motivate me. I already learned my lessons and the same mistake won't happen again. And you are right, let's just have fun here and continue inspiring others through our writing. 🙂

Always a pleasure visiting you. So glad I can be motivating ~ 🤗😉

Thank you 🥰

WE THX image (1).png

Thank you for supporting the #weekend-engagement initiative conceived by @galenkp and featured in THE WEEKEND community

The image belongs to @galenkp

And my journey has just begun. Hopefully this one will be worthy too.

It will. You are one of the good writers I know here. It's tough at first, but eventually, you'll get hold of everything.

Hi Jane
Could you do me a favour please .... edit your post ...
Use #weekend-engagement as the first tag of your post
It is in the guidelines.
Salamuch
For me I just engage and don't worry about the votes etc, I see newcomers all the time getting bigger rewards than me votse from approciator and all the others.
All about engagement, if I win or am in the top three of the engagement league then I happy!
People need to read rules before posting in a community, but have fun, if something is fun then you will do it and not worry about the rewards as they will come!

As I said there, I don't mind about it, but the way other mods muted users abruptly.. And yes, engagement is necessary here and just have fun. Thanks btw

Normally a weekend engagement prompt post without weekend-engagement as the first tag would not be commented on, I think Galen was in a good mood!

Haha. I'm lucky then

oo you are!
You are up late, getting ready for your day off?

Haha. Not so. It might rain tomorrow. Huhu

oh no!
Time to get your umbrella out...

indeed readers are really important because through them youre being motivated to write more

Tama.. Hey there hehe..

@jane1289 WOW!!I just skimmed your post here and then the replies and was was straight trippin!!! had to read your post again. I thought the blockchain was about freedom of speech and what not. A cpl weeks back Me and this dude started chattin and became quite friendly. He was gonna help me understand some of the nuances I dont understand like delegating, curating and a few other things. The next day, he was spouting off about getting down votes n stuff and he was sinking and a bunch of other things. The part that cought me was he said he suffered from mental heath illness. As a fellow certified wack job this touched me and I wanted to know what I could do to help. All I could do was listen to his thoughts and feelings or whatever. But he quit. I told you this because just cuz you feel something doesnt make it true. If some jamoke wants to mute ya. Eff it, they are the one missing out on your vibrance and humor and compassion!! Heck theres enough here that ya can get lost in the crowd quite easily. Now, I might be naive about this. But thats how I live my life in general. Now I found this humorous, others might not. But the other day while my GF and I were taking a drive she said She has got me figured out. To which I said hoes that. She said that the way I am about not giving to shits about anything and just living in the moment, was because... I am suicidal. I've tried to leave this rock 4 or 5 times , obvisouly top no avail. And she said how can someone give a crap about anything when they are prepared to die at any moment. THIS IS HOW I LIVE. I am nor is anyone on this planet outside this planet or universe promised the next moment. A train could fall from he sky and land on any one of us. I am not granted to finish this replay nor any guarenteed to finish reading this if thy even made it this far! LOL. I tend to get side tracked when I talk. It part of my charm, LOL. N E WAYS. I think that it is awesome that you didn't dip out on the hive. Well one reason is I wouldn't have made this comment and thought about a zillion other things while I typed this out.

Now I am trying to remember what else I wanted to say to you. Ok uh, 1- ppl suck. The interwebs has made the chicken shits of the world have a voice and they think they are somebody in the world of the living. and ppl will knock you down quick as a whip online. EFF EM!!! they dont exist!! Nor do you for that matter nor I. Drop em like they are HOT!! But don't let your mind run wild because you are worried what someone might say to what youre feeling when youre writing. Say whats on your mind and be true to you. I dunno chick. I let my mind get slideways and want to defend or pep up people that get hassled. I go after bullies. There aint no reason for puttin folks down to prove a point, or to make them feel bigger or assert some kind of control. Naw, ef that. Now any of you taking this to heart and thinking its about you, It aint. Like I said lil while back, just cuz you have felling's about a situation doent make it true. But if it strikes that much of a nerve, then maybe it is, I dunno Im just a simple Yeti. @jane1289. I dont think ya need to make a change. The shit that has happend and it cant be changed one way or the other. The shit thats gonna happen cant be changed cuz it hasn't even happened. And, might not ever happen, LOL.

I will say that Maybe I shouldnt have commented and I can actually delete this and not. But You be you girlfriend and thats all.

Have A Happy Day And Dont FOrget To Be Awesome!!!

Says,
Yeti

PS Sorry for my rambling thoughts and the cussing. But is who I is I and is how ill always be, LOL!!! DEUCES!!!

Lol. This made me laugh, thanks for the humor. Glad you had survived and conquered that suicidal you. There are more reasons to live in this world and you are right, we shouldn't mind unnecessary stuff, rather just live our life and be happy. Unfortunate things happen, and that's to teach us lessons and make us a better person.
Stay positive dude. And thanks for this heartwarming message which I guess would fit as a whole content already 😅.
You're lucky to have an optimistic girlfriend by the way.

Im certainly happy ya got a lol out of my shenanigans!!! ANd you are absolutley spot on. Ya ask the universe for strength and patience, It puts nincompoops in your path!! The old saying stop and smell the roses is a fact of life my dear!! When ya ask for wisdom The universe gives you situations like you had here. Thats is all. Carry on and have a happy life!!!... feel free to spit insanity on any of my post if you will. I like having someone else to talk to besides myself. However those are some of the most intelligant conversations I have. N E WAYS, ADIOS!!!

Haha..I like that shinanigan. I should visit your spot now then and I might be able to read some humor too.

Oh im freakin miserable and depressin friend. Avoid my place like covid!!

🤣🤣. Got me curious

The good thing is you are keeping on :) Communities have certain rules and not adhering to them will get us muted. I guess you know better now after those experiences hehe.

I am curious though, does delegating help us get higher tips?

As far as I know, not really. Delegating means you are lending your Hive Power and depending on whom you are delegating to, you can earn a certain percentage daily from your delegation.

Thank you..of course, that circumstance is just part of the challenges here.

Congratulations @jane1289! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 1000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I too have been silenced on more than two, maybe three occasions. But consider that the publication was muted not your account, sometimes that happens for the reasons you stated, not reading the rules before posting is one of them. If you like these communities, try again to comply with the rules, remember that first the publications are muted, don't get discouraged, maybe they already told you in other comments.

Don't start again, I know it makes you want to but you already have a long way to go, it's better to change direction.

I always thought why the curators don't tell you what the error is, if we are new we don't know where we are going wrong, once a curator told me that she liked my publication but that she would not submit it for the whale to vote for me, because the images did not have their origin, I asked her to explain the error and what I could do, I practically begged her and I received silence from her.

When I read this post the first thing I thought was that it does not meet the minimum length, it is very long and here are the rules, good that you made the final note, by the way it is good that you put the link to the challenge in the post of the initiative. greetings friend. @jane1289