8 Reasons Why Province Life Hits Different: A Sunday Experience

When we reach a certain point in time, we will always have so many realizations in life. Like in adulthood, everything’s surreal. I say “surreal” because I remember myself as a kid who was too excited to grow up because I wanted to try things that grown-up women usually do. But as time went by, I became more aware of the complex realities of life. It has become a flood of realizations for me that what I was thinking a long time ago was all just way too far from the truth. How ironic that before I was too jubilant to go to the city, and now that I’m always in the city, I just want to be in the province. My experiences have led me to different kinds of introspection and reflection. Now, allow me to share with you today my happy weekend experience in the province with some realizations, and one of those is that province life hits differently.

8 REASONS WHY PROVINCE LIFE HITS DIFFERENT

To be able to come home after a long, tiring week is the greatest weekend experience for me. These are the photos I took on the bus while traveling home to our province. Seeing green surroundings constantly makes me feel happy and excited already, as it means that I’m halfway close to our home. Without further ado, I’ll now tell you my reasons.
1. Province life hits differently because my family is here.
Being able to spend time with my family is the most precious thing and my favorite thing to do. If I could just stay any longer and not come back to the city that quickly, I would. But I have to. I once bumped into this TikTok video by dailyquotes25 with the saying, “When you realize... the day you left your parents’ house for your studies or career, that was your last day at home. No matter how many times you visit for holidays, it will never be the same again. You will always miss your old life. Always.” This is so us; this is so me. I stayed out of my home and my comfort zone because I needed to. Now, I can barely go home because I’m striving in the city for the future. Indeed, provincial life hits differently because my loved ones are here. Thus, moments here are cherished deeply at all times.


2. Province life hits differently because my Mochi is here.



Indeed, provincial life hits differently because I have this cute being always waiting for me to come home. I remember that our first separation from each other was super difficult for both of us. I needed to take him to the province because no one could look after him in the city, and I couldn’t stop thinking and worrying about him being alone at the house. Here in the province, my parents could look after my furbaby every time, which is very good for him. Mochi is one of the reasons why provincial life is amazing. It’s even more wonderful because he’s here. Now, he already understands why I always come back and forth, but we still both have teary eyes every time we meet. We will always be searching for and longing for each other’s presence.

One of Mochi's friends, whom we named after my brother's name, Jerome haha still cute tho


3. Province life hits differently because you would wake up with this refreshing morning view.


To be greeted by a sunny and foggy morning is my ultimate favorite here in the province. It’ll be very visible for you to see the sun shining, looking at these hazy formations along with the fresh, cold breeze of the air, which creates a magical atmosphere. Being here on the weekend is some form of self-restoration for me. Everything is cool, everything is relaxing, and everything is slow. This is what I truly miss every time—our simple and happy place.


4. Province life hits differently because of the green surroundings.


Being at the province always keeps me calm, as the green color is very relaxing to the eyes, which corresponds to several studies claiming that when we perceive the color green, our nervous system can unwind and relax because it won’t have to work as hard to perceive other colors. Indeed, it’s true, because when we decipher the province, it’s a place of stillness and quietude, maybe because of the lush surroundings complemented by the additional wonders of nature, where our tired selves can rest and breathe. That’s why, if I were to describe it in three words, I would say “GREEN IS SERENE." It is because being surrounded by greenery actually soothes all my senses, which definitely brings me inner harmony. I feel more healthy and happy when I see green.


5. Province life hits differently because of the visibility of the clouds and blue skies.


For a sky lover like me, these views are perfect. I love to be here in the province because I can have an unlimited view of the cloud formations and blue skies. Moments here seem to be in slow motion—no rush hours, no busy streets, no loud noises. In the city, I have no time anymore to gaze upon the wonders above, that’s why it makes sense why I say province life hits differently.

6. Province life hits differently because there’ll be many wildflowers growing anywhere.




What an amazing experience it is to have a moment to appreciate the pretty wildflowers in the bushes. Province life indeed hits differently because of these lovely flowers growing everywhere, which constantly melt this inner child heart within me. I only have Sunday to rest, so I always make the best of it by admiring these cute beautiful flora over here.


7. Province life hits differently because of its abundance.


Food and water are accessible in the province. People usually plant crops for consumption and dig wells for sources of water. What they reap is what they sow. Food includes fruits and vegetables, which can be eaten for as long as you want in a way that you don't have to spend much money to buy food in the marketplace.


8. Province life hits differently because you could find food on the farm.


Sunday is a time for family bonding, and it's a great weekend that I’m able to spend the day in our home with great people and great food. Why I’d say province life hits differently is because we could make food just like this cassava suman, a Filipino tasty snack, we’ve made together with my family. My mother’s homemade delicacy, which has been my all-time favorite ever since. Aside from that, there's so much more here that definitely could fill up our empty stomachs. It's been a marvelous weekend experience for me. I hope you all do as well, dear Hivers! As the day’s still ongoing, I wish you a fun and happy weekend! See you around, amazing people!
Sort:  

Ugh, I miss my province, even though I visited just a week ago. It was a brief, almost like a night visit.🥲

Lahi rajud ang province life uy.

Every probinsyana can relate. Just how ironic it is that time here is so fleeting. 😭 Dali kaayo mahuman ang adlaw if lipay kaayo ta.

Your description of provincial life's charm is truly captivating. Thanks for letting us peek into your serene weekend getaway! 🌺☀️

Thank you as well for reading, @johnfritz246! 🙌 Indeed, the wonders of the province are worth sharing. I'm happy to have shared this weekend experience with you here.

Such a heartfelt reflection on the beauty of provincial life and the importance of family. Thanks for sharing your weekend journey with us! 🌳💕

Thanks for stopping by, couz! I'm in awe to have shared this moment with you. I hope we could get back to the province together so that we could experience the things we used to do before. I miss all those golden days. Ó⁠╭⁠╮⁠Ò

Yes, I can also say that it's really different and enjoyable to live in the province, especially when all our relatives reside there. Also, you forgot to mention that in the province, our way of life is complete because of the care provided by our parents(kumpleto sa kaon=makatambok)

Yessss @misswhimsical hahahaha being there in the province means being together with our family, our parents, who would prepare food on the table and always make sure to fill up our stomachs. ❤️❤️ Life in the city is the opposite, there's no one who would prepare food for us, it's just us alone. ಥ⁠╭⁠╮⁠ಥ This makes me feel lonely right now, again hahaha.

Province life definitely is very different. Although I haven't tried living in province, whenever I visit the wind, sun, and feels really are so different than the city. Maybe because the only noise you hear are the swaying leaves and trees, animals, maybe kids... But in the city there's so much that you forgot how quiet a place can be. :D

That's so true, @hiddenblade! 🥺 There's so much to do in the city that we sometimes forget to soothe ourselves. As someone who originally lives in the province and is exposed to the city for my studies, I honestly would say that my city life right now is very fast-paced and demanding. Ó⁠╭⁠╮⁠Ò It's very exhausting in a way that a true definition of rest for me is only going home. Thank you so much for reading. I appreciate it. 💙💙