[WE 118] Weekend history lesson - "We were just children"

Hello everyone, I hope you had a great weekend. When I read the post about this week's #weekend-engagement by @galenkp I was very inspired by the topics. Each of the topics awakens creativity and motivates you to get moving and think about what you could write about.

I chose the following topic.

Weekend history lesson

Find a historical monument in your area, take a photo of it and write a minimum of 250 words about it, the history and meaning behind it. The photo you use must be your own photo.

This topic motivated me to go out for a walk and photograph the monument I had in mind. But along the way, I came across another monument that caught my attention and spontaneously changed my plan and inspired me to write about it.

It is a monument to the three-year-old girl Milica Rakic, who died in the NATO bombing of my country (Serbia, former Yugoslavia) in 1999. It is a monument known as "We were just children" and it is dedicated to all the children who were, unfortunately, victims of this war, and there were 79 of them. The monument is located in Tasmajdan Park, in the center of Belgrade.

IMG_20220911_144318.jpg

Milica died in her house when bomb shrapnel hit her while she was sitting on the potty chair and getting ready to sleep. She lived near the military airport that was the target of the attack.

The air strikes lasted from 24 March 1999 to 10 June 1999. I was 11 years old. When you experience something like this in your childhood, you grow up fast. The story behind this monument will best be conveyed by my experience because I was also just a child who was lucky enough to survive.

I remember the bombing by the sound of a warning danger siren. It was a very disturbing and loud sound, loud enough for the whole city to hear. When you hear that sound, you have to go to a safe place that is not considered to be the target of an air attack. I lived next to the bridge so we constantly had to go somewhere because the bridges were the target. There was also a siren to end the danger, a monotonous tone, which we loved to hear. Then we would regularly continue with all the activities, go shopping, play outside, and cross the bridge.

The evenings were always more stressful because then the warning siren was heard more often. After the siren, the sound of airplanes was heard and then you could feel the detonation, something like an earthquake. We glued the windows with duct tape so they wouldn't crack and we waited. The bombing was actually waiting. Waiting for something to happen and waiting for something to pass.

During the war, I kept a diary. I will share with you a passage. I rarely read it because it reminds me of the bad days when I should have been just a child but circumstances did not allow it.

From my war diary...

Here again. Six floors underground. And upstairs, outside, the night is quiet. Like yesterday. Like March 24 when it all started. It is quiet until we hear that sound again. A warning war siren and then the silence... Scary silence. Sounds of airplanes flying. What in the sky is so scary? Why are they doing this? We are afraid of the sky. The news says that an operation called "Noble Anvil" or "Merciful Angel" is being performed in the sky. They are not sure what is the correct name of the operation. But does it matter? There is certainly nothing noble or merciful in all this. The next news is that the child died in the toilet when shrapnel flew through the window. A train with passengers was hit. Maternity hospital and national television. They threw something bad off the planes. Some depleted uranium. They say we are all going to get sick.

What is this? I do not know. Maybe I will know tomorrow. Now I want to sleep. But I can't sleep. Here, 6 floors underground. People are noisy. Mom is worried. Dad is somewhere, we don't know where. Defends us. I just want to get out of here and go upstairs to my room, to play a Super Mario game. I missed two episodes of my favorite series. I want this to end. I can't listen to these noisy people. There is no air. I didn't even know that under the building we have a place like this called a shelter. I listen to what they say. They wonder what we will do if bombs fall on our building. The ruins will bury the shelter forever and we will die here. I don't want to listen to this. I want to go upstairs.

Today, after so many years, I know that when someone says "I want peace in the world" it's not just a phrase. Peace is truly the greatest value.

Thank you very much for reading.

The photo and writing are original and mine.

Greetings!

Jelena

Sort:  

NATO's members and generally everyone on the west world, act like these awful things never have happened. They have become all οf sudden moral with Ukraine! Congratulations Jelena, we must not forget

Unfortunately, there is some truth in what you say. Wars have never brought anything good. Now they are again talking about some potential war in my country over the same issue as 23 years ago. If there really is another war, I'm moving to Greece! 😀

You are very welcome! Good morning!

There are many things in life that are important to us. family, friends, success, wealth, and so on. But of all these things, there is one that stands above the rest: peace.

Peace is the most important thing because it is the foundation of all other values. Without peace, we would have nothing. War would ravage our planet, destroying homes, families, and lives. We would have no time for friendships or relationships. We would live in a world of constant fear and insecurity.
Thank you for sharing my friend.

Yes, peace is the most important because without peace life passes in wandering, fear and we can never achieve happiness. Thanks for the detailed feedback.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you very much! My pleasure 🤗

Mental torment, anguish of war through the eyes and ears of a child, totally horrific when not at an age of understanding the hatred man has toward man, nor greed with fear bestowed upon the innocents.

@tipu curate 2

Exactly. A lot of bad moments and too much fear and stressful situations that left consequences and followed me throughout my life. But I am grateful that my family and I survived then because many did not. Thanks!

Somewhere in the world at any given time there appears to be conflict, man never learns from history!