A Rock Star Indeed!

in Weekend Experienceslast month (edited)

This post is in response to a prompt by @galenkp.

If you could be a rock star or a volunteer at a refugee camp this weekend which would you choose and why?

I am by no means here to blow my trumpet, far from it, but to expound on my values and passion as it aligns with making a positive impact in the lives of others, especially the helpless and the downtrodden. At personal levels and with very scanty material resources, I have helped out quite a few.

Every festive season, I make it a point of duty to provide food and support for at least twenty beggars on the street. A lot of them go without food from day to day and would only rely on the little proceeds from their begging activities.
I don't know why I feel a knot tightening in my chest whenever I come across a helpless and hopeless fella, I always feel empathy and compassion for such people.

Mom would say, "You can't save everybody". My husband says the same too. I know I am not a Super woman, just an ordinary girl doing her bit to make the World a better place.

Against this backdrop of empathy, you would appreciate the fact that I'm actually cut out for the volunteer work at the refugee camp, not to be a Rock Star. Agreed, being a Rock Star comes with affluence, recognition and fame but if I have to be any kind of Star, I would want to shine like Mother Theresa, Florence Nightingale, Mary Slessor and the rest of them. These women went down into the annals of history for their humanitarian stances, I would want to do the same. Only then would I be a Rock Star Indeed.

I would choose working in a refugee camp not just for the weekend, because I understand what it means to be displaced, leaving love and family behind or even dead, the trauma that goes with loosing almost everything or everything.

I would want to help these vulnerable people anyway I possibly can. It might be very challenging but I'm never one to run away from one, and just a tiny bit of stirrings of happiness in any heart would have made my work worth the while.

Thank you for reading.

All photos belong to me.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jemima2001! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

While we watch the news about refugee camps, we might not understand how it feels to be in one so it would truly be a learning experience for one to volunteer. You are amazing for helping others in ways that you can.

!LUV

jemima2001, ifarmgirl sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Thank you very much.