No- Device Weekend.

For me, a typical weekend looks like this: I wake up early on Friday, work on the news site I work on, have breakfast, take a shower, and wash my clothes if necessary. After I'm done with that, my Friday routine, I go to my PC to finish up my work for the day. As I wind down for the night, I visit my blog to engage in some conversation.

Most of the time, I always want to watch a movie series on my PC, but because I am always so busy, I never get around to it.

image.png
George Milton

On Saturdays, I try to wake up early in the morning to get my work on the news site done as usual. I then eat something before leaving for church. I report to church every Saturday for rehearsal and I'm usually not near my phone until I'm through rehearsing. Whenever I get home in the evening, I finish up my work on the computer and respond to chats on my phone. I do this till I'm done and it's time to sleep.

Sundays are always difficult for me due to my tired state, coupled with the fact that I have to leave for church before 8 a.m. So, all I do is wake up, get ready for church, and leave the house until the close of the service. Once I have re-energized myself I go to the PC to get my work done as quickly as possible, I play music on my phone and respond to chats, or I watch vocal tutorials on YouTube.

It's now easy to picture what I would experience if I had a no-device weekend.

I'm not the type to go out to visit friends because I don't have friends like that. Even if I did, I doubt that I would want to visit because I enjoy my own company and prefer being alone by myself in my room. I prefer not to be disturbed. I am already known in my house to be the type that doesn't go out unless it is extremely needed.

However, anything is possible. Suppose I returned from work on the weekend after doing a physical job. However, I received news that the power supply in our area is faulty and there won't be light till Monday. Now, I look at the fact that my weekend has been planned. No matter how much I want to, I just can't get fuel to fuel my generator. This is so that I can at least have the power supply to charge my devices, that is my PC and mobile phone.

image.png
Ron Lach

Now, what would I do?

When I am that bored, the last thing I want is to stay hungry. Here is why: When I am working on my device, after having breakfast, it is not easy for me to get up to get something to eat. It's like I'm glued to the device and cannot leave until it shuts down. Having no device at all, I will make sure to eat healthy food as much as I can. This is because I know that once my device is back, I will not want to leave it again.

Another thing I would do is take the time to update my diary. My diary contains events from my life. This helps me to remember certain events. Not just that, I also write my thoughts, needs, wants, and plans. I love to have these things jotted down in my diary. However, because of how busy I feel when I am with my device, I always procrastinate and tell myself that I will write it later. In reality, I don't always get back to it unless a situation like the NO-DEVICE weekend happens. As I cannot be with my device, I will take my time to update it. I've got a lot to write, and the weekend won't even be enough time to finish them all, but I'll just jump right into it.

image.png
Vlada Karpovich

Another thing I would be doing is spending time with my son. I won't deny the fact that most times, my device doesn't allow me to enjoy quality time with him. Therefore, for the weekend, I will try to make up for that, spend quality time with him, and give him all my attention.

Andrea Piacquadio

Most importantly, I will make sure to get as much sleep as I can. This is because I know that once my device is back, I won't be getting that much sleep again.

In summary, the things I don't get the chance to do when I am with my devices are what I will be doing this weekend. As you can see, nothing like getting out because I have a lot of things I need to catch up on at home.

This is my entry to the weekend-engagement topic prompt by @galenkp. Better late than never to join in on this one. If you would like to participate in this weekend's topic prompts, go check out the weekend community. Gracias!.

Sort:  

We all could do with more time away from our devices. The things that you have listed here are very important for your well being and I hope that you find the time to do them all @jessicaossom xxx

Yeah, these are things that my device doesn't give me time for at times...They are what I would do for a no-device weekend.

Congratulations @jessicaossom! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 46000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 47000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!