Hospitality In It's Finest To A Stranger.

Screenshot_20220826_200604.png

This friday has been good to me and now I'm having my coffee with rice. You may find it weird but it tastes good for me and I can recommend it to you if you would like to try.

Dinner time has come and we already prepared the dishes and the foods on the table. We are about to sit down and have dinner when we heard our dogs barking loudly. I stand up and get my flashlight to check what it is because it's unusual for them to bark like that. Loud and aggressively. Something is definitely wrong, in my mind while walking towards our dogs.

I switched on my flashlight to check what's going on then something suddenly hide behind the gate. Our gate was widely open that time. It scared me for a bit then I told my dogs to stop. I approached the gate and I saw someone with ripped clothes. Not only that, his face was covered also with dirt.

I felt sad for him and my inner self was telling me to look after him so I asked his name and told him to stay with us for the weekend for the mean time.

It maybe uncomfortable for others out there to accommodate someone especially if they are a total stranger. Issues may arise and our trust towards a stranger may not be full due to the reason that we don't know a single bit of information about him or her. But despite of that I'm sure that a part of our conscience will be triggered and we may think to accommodate a stranger after all.

That kind of thinking is just natural to us humans but it's unnatural for us to be so unkind to someone we see for the first time.

With that situation I'm in I will gladly offer our house for him. I will tell him to feel at home and ask us if he need something. We need to understand them first before we judge a stranger.

Thus, we had our dinner that friday night and we talk about himself to know more about him. I offered him our extra room for visitors and told him that we can continue talking in the weekend.

Weekend has come and the sunrise always fascinate me. I went out of my bed and went straight to the kitchen to cook something to eat for our breakfast.

I'm cooking our rice when Joselito opened his door. It seems I woke him up because his room is just beside the kitchen. That's his name by the way.

I offered him a black coffee and his face lights up. I wonder why and he said that it's been a long time since he had his black coffee. I told him to just help his self when he wants to have some, our kitchen is open for him.

While I was frying some fish and eggplants, he opened about himself. Why he ended up like that and all. He told me that he's not from our place and somone just promised him a work but ended up being scammed. I felt sorry for him because he's from the province. A lot of the people from the province are being scammed by people who just want money.

I listened to his stories and his future plans. This is what we can do for strangers like Joselito. To listen to them because in every situation there's always a reason behind it.

After our long chitchat we had our brealfast. He will eat what we will eat. There's no need to separate his from from our and there's no need for it to be different from our food.

That will be the situation also for the meals we will have through out the weekend.

He said to me that he wants to look for work for his family needs allowance every month. I decided to help him in the way I can. He said that he will repay me when he will earn enough money.

I just smiled at him and said that there's no need for it. I accommodated him with full consent of my will. I also added that if one day and someone will ask for shelter and help, he should help that someone. I will be very happy if he pay it that way. He ageed to me and we had a deal.

After that we tour him around the city for him to familiarize the place just incase he can look for a job. We also include him to our daily routine which is to have exercise at home. He loves it very much.

All in all we accepted Joselito as a part of our family in the span of weekend.

Why I would do this? As a Filipino this kind of thing called hospitality is already running through my blood since the past so I will continue to execute it because in the first place it's the right thing to do. When someone need some help, if we can do it then we should.

This is my weekend entry hosted by sir @galenkp. If you want to join just visit this one and choose among the choices.

Thanks for reading upto this part.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jhero22! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I had a nice time reading through your blog post you are indeed a man with big heart of gold accepting a total stranger isn't what most people in this part of the world will love to consider.

Because of the situation at hand the insecurities here and there a stranger should better find his way out because no one will even want to have that thought of giving a helping hand. Thanks for sharing see you around.

I'm glad that you find this one.
I know that most people would doubt an stranger but why don't we give a chance to them.

Well so many people have thier separate beliefs some may help while others may find it risky and will want to be on the safe side. It's difficult here though but I personally don't have a problem helping a stranger I can be a stranger too.

All of us wants to be on the safe side and if we can help then we should😊.
Helping a stranger may be a hard decision but we need to show humanity no matter what.
Have a great day friend.

This is one thing I love about Filipino. They are hospitable and I love how you helped Joselito.

It's good to help others, especially strangers because we might not know what help we are doing for them. It's part of hospitality.

That was a well planned weekend with a stranger you never knew but came to help all along.

We can change someone's direction even if we don't know anything about his/ her life.
It's just free to do it. There's no fee.

Hat's off to you man! I am and will always be sketchy to people though I believe that there's always goodness with everyone. I can only extend what I can and not probably open our doors as you know, there are still some evil guys lurking around.

You are indeed amazing!

I really believed in that one po that inside of us there's goodness but due.to some reasons it's being block when we want to portray it. Just like this situation.

Well it's better to be safe than sorry po and that's okay.

This is the height of kindness because not only was he attended to and cared for, he took comfort and solace with that hospitable action. This is beautiful to read.

Being kind to a stranger is just free to execute so we must do it very often. We must show that even it there's a possible threat to our safety we must do what we can when someone reach out his/her hand asking for help.

We need to do what we can because we don't know whose life depends on it. That's true.

Proud of you man, I might not look like that in face of other people but I am that kind haha, secretly indeed.

I have this sort heartfelt to people especially in that position for thinking what if I am the one wearing the shoe. I have this kind of over react where is there someone who will rescued me?

Ow rice coffee, I also try to have some experiment in different varieties of rice brew as coffee. If taste and aroma is significant or not. Haha

Diyos ti ag-ngina bro.

True.likas na satin ang tumulong kahit sa strangers or pulubi... Kya lang minsan tinitake advantage ito ng iba 🤣

That's one of the best characteristics of a Filipino. That is more felt in the provinces than in the cities.

I'm sorta weary of strangers though. Especially by their looks and attitude. Phew!