I Really Would Have Been Better Off Alone

Happy weekend everyone! It's another beautiful weekend engagement prompt initiated by @galenkp. I didn't hesitate to choose this particular topic because why not?😂

You can choose to be an only child or have several brothers and sisters, which do you choose and why?


Pexels

I think everyone that has one or more siblings has once or twice imagined what it would be like to be an only child. Not me though, I imagine it every single day. Sometimes twice a day. “Why wasn’t I an only child?”

First off, why so many chores?😭

I’m not even going to pretend about this one guys. If you’re coming from the average African family, you’ll know how suicidal it is to think you ca n handle the chores alone. You might think there’s nothing to it, but when you come from a family of 7, minus the relatives that come in from time to time, even a chore as simple as taking care of the dishes feels like a full-time career on its own. Why can’t everyone (minus my mum and dad of course 😅) just wash their dishes?

And don’t even get me started on the laundry.🥲

We’re a family of girls. Five girls to be specific, so when I say laundry day is no day of joke, I kid you not. My dad, pitying us got a washing machine. But, for some reason, it got bad. So we’re back to square one. Who wears this many clothes in a day? My little sisters see themselves as some top models on Broadway. So they would don like seven clothes at once, and it’s like the middle of Summer. They’d do this like four times a day. And guess who gets to wash all those dirty clothes in the end.....🙂

Will adding food be like I’m ranting too much? Never.😭

Why would I come back every day to meet empty pots? Sometimes to dishes I cooked myself. You’d think cause it’s a family of girls, food would be bountiful. Sadly, the reverse is the case. Those girls eat like horses. I got really mad one day and marched straight to my mum to tell her “That’s why it’s advised that people don’t have more than two kids. What’s this?” Such an outburst should have gotten me a serious spanking at the least but surprisingly, my mum just laughed in obvious amusement and waved me out of her room.😂

Okay, any more would be obvious ranting. So, even though the list is endless, I’ll stop for now. But the truth is even after saying this, I don’t know how I’d survive without my siblings. Make no mistake, the cons by far outweigh the pros in my perspective, but how would it be if I had no one to gist with when I come back from somewhere? No one to ask for urgent advice when I’m suddenly in a dilemma. No one to cover up for you when needed. No one to stand by your side against parents' sudden decisions. (This particular one is very important). And finally, no one to make you laugh with such reckless abandon.

Yesterday, my family was in a fun mood, feeling optimistic about the national elections, and so, we sat outside. My elder sister, who’s in the choir at Church decided to give us parts to sing for a song she would be soloing on Sunday. It was really beautiful harmonizing our voices. In the end, my dad’s eyes were moist, saying we sounded like angels. It was quite nice. I imagined how awkward it would have been if it was just me serenading them, so I’m glad to have escaped all of that.🥺

I still can’t help feeling sometimes that maybe my life would have been more enjoyable without my wonderful sisters, but who am I kidding? I doubt I’d be able to survive a day without them.❤️

Happy weekend once again!!



Sort:  

Congratulations @jhymi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

The house could sure be a beautiful place without siblings that get on your nerves, but whenever I think about how much African parents put their eyes on their only child....I'd definitely want siblings 😂

Why would I come back every day to meet empty pots? Sometimes to dishes I cooked myself. You’d think cause it’s a family of girls, food would be bountiful. Sadly, the reverse is the case. Those girls eat like horses. I got really mad one day and marched straight to my mum to tell her “That’s why it’s advised that people don’t have more than two kids. What’s this?” Such an outburst should have gotten me a serious spanking at the least but surprisingly, my mum just laughed in obvious amusement and waved me out of her room.😂

This so hilarious😂😂😂
If I had a younger sister that suddenly decided that she wants to be a model and wear more than one set of clothes in a day, it's very easy to manage that situation.
Let her wash the clothes herself. Then she'll know that you are not a washing machine.

Actually growing up in my house, we all divided the chores so they weren't as hectic for everyone.
As annoying as my siblings can be though, I wouldn't trade them for anything in the world. It's amazing to have them around.

It sounds like you have an amazing and loving relationship with your family, as you should. That's what makes it beautiful. Family is the best.

I think those people have siblings are the lucky one. At least they have someone to share the thoughts of them. Enjoy time with them and able to spend some quality time.

I used to wish I had siblings but now, i don't even know what I wish for😂. I like to be alone but it gets too quiet sometimes.

Just can't stop laughing... What a hilarious way to list the cons of having many siblings!

Those little ones ehn, they can be frustrating atimes; yet, they make life worth living. Every moment with them is an experience to cherish. I do love my siblings.

It's a classic case of "can't live with them, can't live without them." They're really the bane of my existence but I don't know what I'd do without them in my life. I'm happy you enjoyed reading. Thanks for stopping by.🥰

I once heard this quote in a movie, "a man's greatest asset is its curse."

Thanks for the wonderful piece.

There are always disadvantages and advantages of having a sibling. If I were to ask, I can't imagine myself alone or being an only child. I'll still choose to have them in my life, whatever attitude their showing right now.

Popped in from @dreemport.

Yeah. We really can't do without them can we? I appreciate your stopping to leave such a beautiful comment. Thanks.✨

Yeah. There are still a lot of benefits around them.

You're welcome. 🤗

This was amusing to read and also heartwarming, The whole ranting just shies how much you adore your siblings, your life would be have been very boring without them.

Ahhh..... extremely boring o. I won't even lie. But Sometimes ehn... E just get as e be.😂
Thanks for stopping by dear.🥰

Family is always amazing especially spending time together, you might quarrel with your siblings sometimes but when the happy times comes, you will not even feel last quarrel

Yeah, that is true. We definitely forget the quarrels and fights when the happy times come. Thanks for stopping by.😂

The only time I wish I was the only child was when I'm angry with my siblings. I love having people around and I don't mind the chores as long as they help out when they can.

I totally understand you own ordeal but it's still very obvious that you would still prefer to go for having siblings over not having one .

I so much enjoyed reading through this and I'm glad #dreemport brought me here.

Siblings are a double edged sword...
And tes the cons do by far outweigh the pro's😭😭😭😭😭💔