Balancing Commitments and Compassion in Weekend Events.

Last weekend I had two important events I had to attend but the possibility of attending the two of them was slightly impossible. One of them was a wedding ceremony of my university lecturer, it was important to me because I was part of his groomsmen and he is my favorite lecturer. The later occasion was a burial ceremony of my ex-girlfriend’s dad; we met in secondary school and became good friends, the burial was a tragic one because she had lost her mum earlier which I did not attend, so it would be unfair to miss this one too.

WhatsApp Image 2024-05-10 at 1.30.53 PM.jpeg


WhatsApp Image 2024-05-10 at 1.29.03 PM.jpeg

Meanwhile, last week Friday night I called her and sent my condolence gift to her telling her I would not be present in the burial ceremony; her response made me cry because she was seeking for whom to lean on. Sincerely, I did not see any possible means to make it for the burial ceremony because these two events are in different local government areas in my state.

WhatsApp Image 2024-05-10 at 1.29.26 PM (1).jpeg

The next day which was on a Saturday, I went for the wedding ceremony since I was part of the groomsmen as I earlier mentioned. In Africa, our wedding culture is quite different; we often carry out traditional marriage, legal marriage, and white weddings separately. Some people merge traditional marriage and white weddings to be done on the same day, which was what my lecturer did. These marriage events were done in two different local government areas but a bus was available to transport the groomsmen. During the white wedding session, I had to whisper to the other groomsmen that I wouldn't be available for the traditional marriage because of the burial ceremony. They understood me and passed the information to my lecturer; immediately after the wedding was done, I rushed out and got a taxi that led to another locality where the burial ceremony was ongoing.

WhatsApp Image 2024-05-10 at 1.29.27 PM (3).jpeg


WhatsApp Image 2024-05-10 at 1.29.26 PM.jpeg

Arriving at the venue, I was opportune to meet with my secondary school colleagues after several years of graduation; we sat together to discuss, play, and share some memories we had back then in school. during the discussion, my ex-girlfriend came around to appreciate our coming. Amazingly, we smiled uncontrollably when she saw me. I decided to give her a hug and whisper “Everything will be ok.” This action I did made my day and I was glad I could see her smile despite what happened. I pray she getting stronger and stronger.

WhatsApp Image 2024-05-10 at 1.29.27 PM (1).jpeg

So friends, that was how fulfilled my weekend was. Let’s see what this coming weekend will be like.

Sort:  

Congratulations @johnuko! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 700 posts.
Your next target is to reach 750 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Wait ooh, you mentioned ex-girlfriend twice 😏😏😏😏 it seems that weekend was bound for the exes and the one holding your hand 😁😁😁😁 but I'm glad you went to the wedding and made your lecturer proud.