MY LAST WEEKEND: AN EXCITING BIRTHDAY ADVENTURE

Every Saturday was a normal day for me. But last weekend was different. I woke up to a very bright and blissful Saturday morning. The early smile on my face was what caught people's attention, especially my friends. They kept on being sarcastic about the impression on my face because they knew on a normal day I don't usually put on a smiling face(though I do relate with people).

WHAT MADE ME WAKE UP HAPPY?

Since the beginning of the past week, I felt unhappy and kind of isolated because our lectures were switched to be held online. More than fifty percent of these lectures haven't been held till now. Just a few, which have been boring and dreary. I had friends to talk to and play with but they had physical classes almost every day so it limited my time with them.
So what made me wake up happy and smiley was that, it was my friend's birthday and I couldn't wait to go out with her and celebrate because she promised she would take me out. People mocked and laughed at me after finding out that was the reason why I was so happy that morning, but I was never bothered because the celebrant was a close friend of mine and I have never had a reason to be so happy and joyous from Monday to Friday until that very day which I was going to be free from the shackles of boredom and sadness.

ARRIVING AT THE CELEBRANT'S RESIDENCE.

After I was done with my preparation, I took my time to go out to board a bus that would take me straight to her hostel. I was aware that where she resides was a little bit far, but I didn't bother because I was ready to spend most of the day celebrating with her. The journey was for more than thirty minutes, close to forty. On getting to her hostel, she saw me first and threw a broad smile at me. We exchanged greetings, and I wished her and gifted her my present for her belated birthday.
I wasn't only her friend, of course. Other friends of hers came to wish and celebrate with her, as there were presents here and there. Water was poured on the celebrant as it was known to be a celebratory tradition in Nigeria, even though it's kind of outdated. People took pictures with the celebrant so did I as she forced every single wishers to take a picture with her.

SETTING OUR FEET OUT FOR CELEBRATION.

After exchanging greetings at her hostel, and people gifting her with various presents she decided to also celebrate with others by feeding them.
We partied, danced, and played games as we continued to celebrate our celebrant.
After hours of celebration with other well-wishers, the celebrant set out to continue celebrating and enjoying the rest of the day. She has always promised to eat or get snacks for herself and me from this particular eatery, FoodCo. We got ice cream, doughnuts, cupcakes, drinks, and smoothies. We made sure we celebrated to our satisfaction after which we departed the eatery.

PARTING WAYS AND RETURNING HOME.

We stood by the roadside, waiting for taxi vehicles going in our direction but unfortunately, we couldn't find one at that moment. We walked for about ten to fifteen minutes looking for taxi vehicles but finally, we boarded a bus that took us to a bus stop where we were to part ways. I got down to board another bus and we bade ourselves goodbye.