Sort:  

I never saw the statistics @kemmyb, thank you. I experienced it first hand and the history it stems from is enlightening.

"More than half" voted against condemning racism?! What?

Story time:

When we would go to the market, we had to coach ourselves prior to entering. "Don't talk, don't say anything, don't look at them." Where I come from, we customary say "hello," if nothing else, "hello." But it's common to extend that to "how are you today?" Just small talk, pay the bill, exit the market. Not in Italy.

They won't talk to me. I say "hello." :crickets: I ask for help finding something. :crickets: "Thank you." :crickets:

Well, as we discovered, being blatantly ignored like that is kinda enraging. So rather than get pissed each time we'd go to the market (restaurant, depot, coffee, everywhere) we'd coach ourselves, "don't talk, don't say anything."

For a month.

They won't talk to me.

Wow! That's just mean. I quickly looked up that info after I read your comment on your experience in Italy.

Living in such an unfriendly, toxic environment is not advised. Now I understand better why you said, not Italy. If I had the same experience, I would not want to return there.

I'm sure you have more adventures planned. Covid really changed things globally and travel restrictions are quite tight. I wonder if we would ever get back to life as it was. In the event we do, I'll be sure to plan properly before taking any trip! 😉😄

We can only pray. Unfortunately I'm dangerously low on optimism. Pura and I have been transformed since returning stateside in such dramatic fashion. We haven't been scoping out destinations lately instead we're scoping out property. Booooo!

Never saw that comin.

And another thing, Cabbies. Italian cab drivers would stop their taxi's for us when we haled them. As soon as I would talk and say something like "16st please" they heard my California voice and "I'm not going that way" and would take off! Leave us standing in the street.

Can't make this stuff up.

What an experience! I can't claim to fully understand it.

Unfortunately I'm dangerously low on optimism.

Noooooo! Time heals... Never say never. I want Hive's non-picture taking cyclist to be optimistic and ready for some adventure!

May be you will change your mind soon and embark another adventure? I'll keep my fingers crossed. 🤞🤞😄 Cheers!

Unfortunately I'm dangerously low on optimism.

You and I really might be brothers from different mothers. I think if I were you I'd be very frightened.

I think if I were me I'd also be very frightened.

Furthermore, as I read your comment just now I thought I was reading my own. You're definitely my style Tom. I'm glad we met.

Remember this one?