You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 13: Ask me anything

Probably a big negative on the career change. I maybe should have done that 10 years or so back. As age and health come into play at our age. Yes, I had to loop you in on the age comment "Old Man"... lol

I will make the best of the next 5-10 yrs. Till the autonomous trucks come in. And I want a nice prime mover to finish out in. To keep in good shape for some resale value when it is time to quit.

I sold my second truck to a man from mexico. Not every country will be advanced enough for auto trucks. So resale should be possible.

I am with you on the making old new again. I enjoy that with wood and metal. I am a trained welder. So I could do many things.

Sort:  

A response from another old man 😆

It never hurts to keep an eye out for what sort of jobs are open at any given time. Life is bizarre like that, it sometimes has a plan for us that we could not have foresaw until it happens.

I think by that time the bots will have taken a lot of our jobs!

Yeah, after I typed that comment I thought the same. Too late for us to pivot all that much. It is what it is.

Best to live our lives as best we can, enjoy ourselves when possible and be content. Discontent isn't a good thing to aim for.

Seems like a good plan, the autonomous vehicles will come along and take over eventually. Round out your career in a decent rig and then move it on to someone before retirement.

I can't weld, never done it. Would be a cool skill.