The Snows that I Remember...

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

Rewind Nearly 45 Years.

Heavy woolen socks for mittens with five pairs of socks crammed into "moon boots". The Moon boots were huge oversized snow boots with thick felt liners inside them. Several layers of clothing. Hand me downs all, I am sure of it. Holes worn in all of them also.

You see I was a dirt poor Pennsyl-Tucky (usa) farm boy. A broken home on a 100+ acre dairy farm with 48 mixed cows and heifers.

Difference Between Heifer and Cow

The key difference between heifer and cow is that heifer is a female bovine that has not had any offspring while a cow is a female bovine that has given birth to at least one offspring.
scr

An absentee, divorced MIA father. Holding down local watering hole pub barstools somewhere nearby. But rarely seen by us for nearly ten years. The hatred my parents shared for each other was disturbing to say the least. And the biggest factor in me not wanting children later in life.

A very rarely sober, chain smoking mother. Often too depressed to get out of bed. Or was it hung over when not at work or the pub? A mother that always had monies for bingo,beer, and smokes. But none for new mittens, socks or even underwear. Yeah, the skivvies were hand me downs with holes in em too that never quite fit right.

But that SNOW!!

It was free, fresh and never lacking. Snow falls that never ended for the 6 months of fall, winter and spring in the north west corner of PA. Just 13 miles south of Lake Erie. In what is known as the "Great Lakes Snow Belt".

One of the "Curation Teams" terms of service on this #weekend-engagement post was "2 Fo-toes".

So I am going to dig deep into the lost in time photographs. The ones I spent hours upon hours scanning to digitize many years ago. Finally this awesomely large group of curators has given me a reason to dig into these old pics.

The single wide mobile home I grew up in under 4 feet of snow
Snowfall (The Farm 1980's).jpg

A view of the farm from that mobile home

The Briggs Farm.jpg

At this point in my life 56 years of age in 10 more days. Those simple hard times in the country seemed so much easier than today. No electronics, shabby clothing, but friends and the farm family. A grandmother who did nearly all the work of raising us. Teaching us wrong from right. Lord how I miss that woman. My Gramma Hazel Briggs. Full blown Alzheimer's took her from us. But the memories and the love could never be forgotten. She is who I am. Her strength and stories live in me.

I hope the many curators of this W.E. will find it in their hearts to except this one more photo?

My ❤️Gramma Hazel Briggs, My brother Ray and I (cowboy hat)
Gramma Briggs, Ray & Randy (1986).jpg

Thanks again to @galenkp a one man curation team. I wish I had the passion and drive he does. I truly look up to him for many reasons. That drive is just one of them. ❤️😉❤️

Sort:  

I have never been to a place where it snows, hopefully will be there some day and experience it.

I still like to visit the arctic tundra. But love the warmth of the south.

hey boss man hope you are doing well!

Hangin' in there. I miss our musical back and forths. We need our Jaynie back. Or another weekly tune competition. That was fun.

You in that hat bro...No wonder you needed to bat the ladies off with a stick!