You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 47: Favourite transport [answer and win hive]

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

Mine has to be my Chevy Bolt EV. Of course, being more of a techie than a mechanic, I love the push button and go simplicity. I LOVE not having to stop at the gas stations any longer and having a "full tank" every morning. She does 0-60mph in 6 seconds, so very fun to drive, I still love leaving people sitting at the stoplights, lol.

I couldn't resist making a full post on the subject after having driven it for 4 years now. Check out the full post and video review here, on the weekend community:
https://peakd.com/hive-168869/@ksteem/weekend-travel-without-gas

2017-Chevy-Bolt.jpg

Sort:  

Hmm, not sure if we have that here but I can certainly understand why you like it. It's the way I'll go eventually...I mean, I love my trucks and four-wheelers but always have a more sensible car, I call my town car. Currently a Ford Escape. It's petrol though. (gas you call it I guess.) We'll all be on the electric cars eventually and we are getting more and more here. 0-60mph isn't too shabby also. Nice.

!ENGAGE 20

Yes, and quarter mile in 14.9 seconds. We have a couple weird intersections nearby, where there is a stoplight and then a quick merge from 2 lanes to one lane. Folks are always trying to be in the first spot or two of the right lane and then jump out ahead of the left lane folks to merge (or cut) in front of them. It feels like a teenager again being able to "take" nearly all of them off the line easily, including some Porsches, BMW's, Camero's, etc. Let alone the average everyday sedans and pickup trucks.

The electric motors are able to transfer all of that power nearly instantly, 200HP and 266 lb-ft of torque. I highly suggest at least test-driving an EV. The performance alone is worth the change. Likely the closest I'll ever get to owning a "real" sports car like a Ferrari or such. If I win the Lotto, I'll both a Tesla Truck and the Sportster!

That's a legit 1/4 mile time!

I can't get a concept of size though...Like, small SUV?

I might have to go and test drive an EV car just to see what it's like.

Yes, like a small SUV, it's a little shorter than a Chevy Equinox if you folks have those.
Bolt = 94 cubic feet of passenger space, 17 cubic feet of cargo space behind rear seat. 56.6 Cubic feet of cargo space with back seats folded flat.

Equinox = 103.2 cubic feet of passenger space, 30 cubic feet behind rear seat and 63.5 cubic feet of cargo space with back seats folded flat.

There will be lots of other options in another year or two, it seems just about every manufacturer is jumping on the EV bandwagon.

Yeah I reckon there will be a stream of them coming through. Should bring the price down. Yours seems a decent size too, not too big or small. I'd say about the same size as my Ford Escape.

Definitely a little smaller than a Ford Escape, but not obnoxiously so.... mainly missing that extra storage space in the back. The front and passenger seating quite roomy. Esp. since there's no hump in the middle. I test drove it and fell in love, even if a little ugly, it's all about the specs, function, and performance for me.

Yeah, I agree about the specs, performance and function comment.

Hmm, not sure if we have that here but I can certainly understand why you like it. It's the way I'll go eventually...I mean, I love my trucks and four-wheelers but always have a more sensible car, I call my town car. Currently a Ford Escape. It's petrol though. (gas you call it I guess.) We'll all be on the electric cars eventually and we are getting more and more here. 0-60mph isn't too shabby also. Nice.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.