Sort:  

I can't recall if there was implications. I'd say so though as it was a clear error on the part of the armourer and his assistants.

Have you ever taken/touched/picked up a gun without checking the condition?

With a model 629 you can not only look down the barrel with the cylinder open, you can stick your finger all the way down.

That is just firearm stupidity.

Yeah, I have never failed to check the condition of a firearm I've picked up, pulled out of or put into my safe or vehicle, or handed to or received from another person. Safety first.

Guns one can't easily check are a little unnerving. Still, that's what trigger discipline and understanding where the muzzle is at all times is all about I guess.

In the case of the set of The Crow...a few fundamental errors there...Cost a life, ruined others.

AD. Accidental Discharge. I don't believe it AT ALL. All ADs are negligence as I see it, and should be prosecuted.

Having said that, I've had one. When I was 11 I set the hammer on my first hunting shotgun. I managed to touch off the round as I was walking. I utterly learned a lesson that day with no pain involved.

An AD can be a big wake up call and should only happen once, if at all Your lesson was one that lasted a lifetime so a good lesson.

Yeah that makes sense. You would think that someone would be accountable, to some degree. It's an accident I'm sure but still. Someone died.

Indeed. Tragic accident. You know it happened to a other chap also. Jon-Erik Hexum. Same sort of scenario but self-inflicted.

Between takes on-set he got bored and was fucking around with a real gun given him for the scene. It had blanks in it. He removed all the bullets except one, spun the chamber put it to his head and pulled the trigger.

The (paper) wadding used to retain the gun powder in the case hit a vulnerable spot and caused a small fracture to his skull. The blunt force trauma was enough to ultimately kill him.

His actions were stupid and irresponsible. No firearm should be pointed at a person unless one is going to shoot that person. Of course, on movie sets it happens all the time.

He was clueless, totally stupid and paid the price. Also, the set armourer should have taken anyone handling a firearm through the safety aspects of firearms and explain that blanks can still be very dangerous.

A comedy of errors that ended a life. I handle firearms almost daily and after 31 years of doing so are as meticulously careful as the very first day I picked one up. If I'm not? Well, myself, or someone else could die. It's as simple as that. It happens so very often. More than most realise.

That's interesting. I wasn't aware of John Erik. Not a smart choice of actions but I can understand how something like that would happen. Good points about safety and responsibility with firearms at all times. I don't own any myself but I agree with your philosophy (above) on them.

With firearms safety comes first. When I instruct that's the first lesson I teach and it keeps recurring.