WE83 Post Topic: First time moving to another Country

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

Moving to a new country can be very challenging but adventurous. In 2014, I got admission in Lady Doak College college Madurai, in India. I was excited and I started making preparations to travel. In less than a month I got all documents ready including visa and flight was booked on a Saturday 12th July, 2014 but unfortunately I missed the flight because I was not carrying the current yellow fever vaccine card and before I could get it the plane was already taxiing but my luggage had already left with the plane. It was depressing to miss my flight. It was rescheduled for 15th July, 2014. I had every document now and I arrived the airport 3hrs below my departure time. I waved my family members goodbye and was excited to leave home and explore another country. While checking in, I approached an Indian man named Mr.Guru and explained to him about my luggage which left three days ago, he assured me that it will be safe in Mumbai and he will help to get them.


image.png

When we boarded the flight and announcement was made then we took off. I was so scared of flight due to the movie I watched in 2001 named Airforce 1 but I enjoyed looking at the sky and looking down to see the ground. The first changeover was at Addis Ababa, Ethiopa then after few hours we got Mumbai very early hours of the morning. Mr.Guru helped me to get my luggage and took me to the gate leading to my next flight to Chennai city. He handed me one thousand rupees and gave me fatherly advice. When I got to Chennai city, I boarded a Bus to Madurai city. Late hours on Wednesday I was already in the college and I was warmly welcomed by the international study center of the college. I was taken to my well arranged and furnished room in the international student hostel. I took proper night rest and the next day I started my registration.


image.png

The registration was less stressful and in few hours I was done with everything. I was taken to my department and was introduced to the lecturers. The Head of Department took me to the class and introduced me to the students. I was the only foreign student in the class. The students were very excited to see and meet me. After the class hours they all came to me to ask me questions in their friendly mode. I struggled academically and health-wise in my first semester but they all helped me with the academic work and held tutorial class for me until I picked up.


image.png

When I fell, sick, they were bringing home cooked food for me and some of them bought me tender coconut every day. I felt welcomed by the Indians. During the evenings, they drag me out from my room and we went to the field to play sports like badminton, volleyball, basket ball etc. it only took me the month of August I had already fit into the system and I was very comfortable. During the weekends they want to take me out for lunch or dinner to beautiful places in the city.


image.png


image.png

Sometimes when there were festive holidays I followed my friends to their home town and enjoy with their family. I really felt at home in India and I must confess Indians are very hospitable people who always wear a smile on their faces.


image.png

I had opportunity to meet other African from different countries like Ghana, Kenya, Rwanda, and Zimbabwe etc. We had cultural integration where I learnt a lot from there and what is obtainable in their country.


image.png

I had difficulty in language. Some of my friends were not fluent in English and I could not speak the local language and most times communication was a barrier for us to flow very well. I was able to overcome this difficulty by gradually learning the language and by the end of my first year I can at least interact and communicate to an extent.

I love to appreciate @galenkp for his great impact and the #weekend-engagement for putting this up to share our first time experience which I find so amazing.

I enjoyed my stay in India.

Sort:  

Congratulations @leosmart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 7
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Great experience to enjoy being an exchange student after a bad start. Learning about the people and yes they are exceptionally hospitable and friendly.

Thanks @joanstewart for stopping by and reading my post.

Happy Valentine's Day!

Happy Valentine's Day to you.

Hope you had a good one!