Telling the future


Publication in response to the weekend experience writing initiative.


20220925_121528.jpg


In many on many occasions despise what many consider to be a gift.

The visions seemed absurd to me, a mere coincidence, a dream remembered at another time because if you do not manage to change someone else's life or improve it, having a gift is useless.

I thought all this until one afternoon when I was at home on a Friday, after a long working day, I was resting on the sofa and there was a knock at the door; it was a neighbor asking me for some coffee. As I handed it to him, my skin crawled; a shiver ran through my body from head to toe.

First time in my life I had such a strong sensation as that, of being present and having an image of everything so close as if there was a giant screen in front of me, I saw how my neighbor lost his life in a car accident; in which he was distracted listening to music just when a driver of a van who was going at full speed lost control, crashed into my neighbor's car taking him out of the road. He screamed and screamed in desperation until he was unconscious. A few minutes later the car caught fire when I reacted and he said to me:
-What's wrong with you? You look pale. -Nothing, I think I'm exhausted. I need a vacation.
-We all need a vacation these days; he said jokingly; he thanked me for the coffee and left.
I was in a stupor and went to bed without dinner.

The next day, I got up early and just wanted to forget what happened but it was kind of inevitable, it came to my mind every now and then so I tidied up and cleaned the house with music blaring to distract me a little. There was a knock at the door and I went out to see who; a friend from the building told me:
-Turn it down or don't you know that you should respect a little. I answered her that it was daytime and at that hour nobody sleeps,
-I don't mean that, she told me: -because of what happened to Mr. Victor. -What happened to him? Don't tell me that the accident was true.
-And you already knew everything and you still play music at full volume? -Tell me what happened. -Well, Mr. Victor died an hour ago, apparently a truck crashed and the car caught fire. I could only say:
-For God's sake! I saw everything and I couldn't do anything.
-Were you there at the accident? My neighbor asked me.
-No, I had a vision where I was able to detail everything.
-God you have the gift! My grandmother had the gift but she couldn't prevent anyone's death; if she tried to prevent the fate of others, something similar to the death she had in the vision would happen to her.
-I don't want this for me.
-You don't choose the gift, it is given to you and that's it. Something can be done to stop having this "gift".

From that time on, I started having visions, it was really inevitable to have them. When I had them, it was because people didn't have much time left to live.

Only once I ended up telling a friend what his death was going to be like and everything turned out worse because he decided to take his own life a few hours after I told him.

That is why from that moment on I never tell anyone how he will die and I will always hate to have this curse or "gift" as many call it.


The images are my own.


Translated from Spanish to English by DeppL (free version)

Sort:  

Congratulations @liseth.zamora! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

I loved the way you illustrated the situation, the friend who decided to commit suicide upon learning the moment of his death, nothing good seems to come of having those kinds of visions.

I'm very glad you liked it. I've always thought that having that kind of faculties, or something similar, is not easy. It's only for the brave