I can't help it - WE153

Perhaps my actions will have consequences, but that's the way I am, what can I do?

3.png

In my last office job, I witnessed many illicit acts, corruption, payment of commissions to obtain the desired result and a myriad of irregularities ranging from analysts to the highest authority. All this happened in a public institution.

That was the main reason why I decided to resign and move away from those people without any values or principles.

I will tell you an anecdote... One of the companies that had to report reports for the institution, which I had assisted its representative on several occasions, came to me to express their concern, since an analyst had called them to ask for money in exchange for the approval of a requirement to be able to commercialize one of their products at a national level.

The truth is that I was not entirely surprised because this behavior was already becoming repetitive. The difference in this case was that I was a friend and fully trusted the analyst's boss.

1.png

That is why I did not hesitate to talk to him (my friend) to report the circumstance so that he could take action. Guess what, I got the surprise of the year with the reaction.

He justified his analyst's act, saying that a colleague in my department was also doing it. I remained silent and spoke no more on the subject. A few months later I found out that the boss, who was my friend, was also part of that group that traded with companies in exchange for an economic benefit (dollars in cash).

I was very disappointed, I distanced myself from him to the point of not speaking to him anymore.

I took the risk of denouncing an act of corruption in the hope of putting an end to the situation.

I was aware that it could bring consequences from the analyst, either by hurting me physically, sending me to give me a scare with a delinquent at the time of departure, to involve me in his dirty business and then blame me for everything, since these people have no scruples and my decision to report could end up with a source of income for him, even losing his job if the boss had not been part of the profiteering group.

If it were my turn to report such an act again, I would do it again. They may say that I am unfriendly and sometimes rude, when I get carried away by anger and act impulsively, but, if I am part of a group of people or act individually, in illegal business, charge undue commission for a job, or charge so that the company gets what it wants so much, even if it harms the inhabitants of a region, for example, they can never accuse me.

2.png

With this experience I conclude my participation for the engagement the week # 153.

I confront and inform, I would never ignore a situation like the one I have just mentioned.

I say goodbye wishing you good vibes 💞

The photos are my own and the editions were made in Canva with the free version.
I use the Deepl translator

Banner.png

Sort:  

Hello friend, how strong your experience, unfortunately, corruption is more frequent than we think.

Frequent, harmful and difficult to eradicate. 😡

Hello, Lis (@lisrl26).

Cases like the one you mention in this content are very common in public companies and even in sensitive agencies such as public security agents.

Selling assets or inventories of the company illegally, obtaining bribes to expedite a procedure, and/or avoiding a fine or imprisonment.

Both the one who executes the criminal act and the one who pays for it are guilty and should go to jail.

Excellent your brave attitude, for that I admire you.

The truth is that I could no longer stand that situation and others that are not worth mentioning. As my mental health was at stake, I decided to resign. I would dare to say that 80% of the institution was in bad shape.

Thank you my dear Germán for your words.

Yes, it is quite a possible risk, and even more so when the person involved is in a position of power. Being honest and fair are values that should be promoted in all areas.

And how much we need to promote values in this society, at least in my beautiful and battered country.

The best decision made, to resign and move away from that circle, is not in tune with you and your energy.

Thank you my dear Aguamiel, yes, it was the best. Besides, I didn't want to get involved in their dirty business.

You did what's was best for you at that moment before you find yourself among them

Corruption is everywhere. We saw, we listen and we felt them in every way. It is just so sad that they are doing it in front of many but it seems many too are blind.

It's like that, sometimes I think it will never end and as a society we will never move forward.