My 3 Guests for Christmas Dinner [Week 133-CE] {\*}


My 3 Guests for Christmas Dinner [Week 133-CE] {*}

After we're done with required Christmas visits, my 3 guests for Christmas dinner join me in midtown Manhattan.



Composite cover image made using MS Paint.

Image sourcing for the images of Rodney Dangerfield, Sylvester Stallone, and William Shatner is noted in each "Guest" section as a hyperlink.

The 3 images used for the composite cover image are used under the Fair Use doctrine.


{*} -- Festivus 2024 began early for me due to technical problems I experienced starting the night of December 24th going into December 26th, I was unable to publish this post within the expected time period. Even though this post does not qualify for [Week 133-Christmas Edition] at WEEKEND EXPERIENCES, I decided to publish it anyway just to record it to blockchain.

My 3 guests would be people with a wealth of stories and experiences. They would be people from whom I can learn many things, about both life and their crafts. All would have insights I could use to take things to another level. All would also be able to dish out and take whatever smack they tell each other (since we need amusement as well as fellowship).

Guest Number One

Rodney Dangerfield
He would also double as Master of Ceremonies and set the pace with his quick wit. I know about him not just as a top-flight stand up comedian but also as a key actor in movies such as Caddyshack and Back to School. As with many legends in his chosen field, it took him years to become an overnight success. I'd also want to know what he thinks of the world in 2022. For this Christmas dinner, he comes back to life for one-night only.

Guest Number Two

Sylvester Stallone
While we know him for the narrowly-focused or slow-witted characters that made him famous, he's actually a Man of Letters as proven by his screenplays. With a wide array of knowledge and wisdom. His movies were an integral part of my youth and adulthood, and he could give me insight into the screenwriter's experience as I work on my own writing (a guy can dream, right?). If I get rid of all the DVDs I have except for a few, his I would retain. It's been said that we should never meet our heroes for fear they would disappoint us; for this Christmas dinner, I would take that risk.

Guest Number Three

William Shatner
He outlasted Queen Elizabeth II, and he's been in Earth orbit. Most people in my generation know him for his iconic role as Captain Kirk in the classic Star Trek series, but he also starred in other multi-season series over the decades (especially _cop drama T. J. Hooker and sitcom Shit My Dad Says). He was already in his 70s when he carried Priceline.com on his back around 2000, and these days he's hosting The UnXplained on History Channel. He would have some stories which would blow our minds.

As it is, Rodney Dangerfield, Sylvester Stallone, and William Shatner-- in that order-- join me for Christmas dinner (but not fruitcake).

🎄🎅🎄🎅🎄🎅🎄🎅🎄

Alternates

I had considered Cosmo Kramer in place of Rodney Dangerfield, but as a fictional character he would have trouble eating and drinking.

In place of Sylvester Stallone would be Jaromir Jagr, retired National Hockey League player and owner of a professional ice hockey team in his native Czech Republic. He should already be inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto, Canada, but at least once a year he's put on the uniform of his Czech team because no one else was available for some reason or other. I would thank the former #68 for the Pittsburgh Penguins for being part of the team I supported, I would rag on him for some of his other teams, and I would ask him for tips on growing that Hall of Fame-caliber mullet he had as an NHL rookie.

A revived George Carlin would have replaced William Shatner, but I think he would be very busy this weekend visiting countless other Christmas dinners.

Once we're done with the dinner, the guests can fight over who ends up with the fruitcake. At that point, I'm out!


Thank You for Reading.  Keyboard Warriors Wanted.