What I won when I lost - Weekend-Engagement 139




It seems contradictory, but from losses you can also make a profit.
Hello everyone, I hope this weekend is being as pleasant as mine. In my case, I am on the eve of my eldest son's 15th birthday, and how can I not be happy and grateful to be able to enjoy it for another year!

Today I join the 139th edition of the weekly plan proposed by @galenkp, through which he makes us reflect on a particular topic.

And although I have read a couple of publications related to the same question I am going to answer, in my case, I decided to give it a particular touch, which also represents me in an excellent way in my current way of seeing things.

Share your thoughts on loss: The loss of physical or mental ability, of freedom, people in your life or of opportunity or possessions.

When talking about losses, I have a few that affected me greatly: my father, 16 years ago, just when I was starting my first pregnancy, after a voracious colon cancer that in only 6 months made him deteriorate so much, that although I hoped it would not be like that, I asked him to finish taking him away, so as not to see him suffer more.

So I spent my pregnancy in full mourning, and that marked me for life, because from then on, my ability to cry vanished, turning me into a person who simply does not cry.


Another was the farewell of my uncle Rafael, my mother's only male brother, who just the day I was celebrating my second baby's first birthday, along with mine and that of the sister who came before him (we all had our birthdays the first week of April and we decided to celebrate them together that year).

Victim of a heart attack, after our little get-together at home, we were returning to drop the aunt off at her house and we were called to let her know. So the joy of the day was marred in the worst way.

In both cases, time has taken it upon itself to teach me that despite the sadness, life goes on and can still be beautiful. With their losses, I gave more value to my existence, being grateful every day to be able to wake up and enjoy another day.

That is why this post is not dedicated to them, but to the gains of my losses. I have lost a lot of money, goods, experiences and time in my 45 years of life, but the important thing is that at some point I managed to stop and evaluate what I was doing to make it happen.

And at that moment I hold on to make a point and apart and restructure myself as a woman and as a human being. I believe that if we are not able to analyze what we have done, to change what we have not liked, we are falling into a vicious circle from which only complaints and nothing positive comes out.

For example, when I lost my first job, depression came knocking. Being a recent graduate, I felt that until that moment there was life, and the question "What now? followed me closely. And being fired from my job - torture - was the best thing I could have had, because it opened the door to better opportunities and to know other facets of my profession.

When I lost my first love, the same thing happened. By the time I was 22, I had already discarded myself on the subject. I would never find someone to love me! was my thought. And oh God! I was saved from that moment and from the other heartbreaks too!

I finally found someone with whom I started my family, had two lovely children, bought a house and we emigrated. But along the way, I really had a hard time: I was in a depression for having to stop my rhythm of life, feeling motherhood as a prison, unemployed and with a drought of initiatives to go out.

That led me to make bad decisions, but also to rethink many things. None of those statements was true! and although there were factors that insisted on making me think that it was, my mind was stronger and I let go of everything, deciding to follow my path.






After being successful as a producer, filmmaker and university professor, I am now the stiff girl (temporarily) but this has allowed me to explore my own abilities to re-emerge as many times as I need to. And I continue to be successful in that work environment, although I've decided it's time to climb back up the rungs in the lines for which I trained.

There are losses that cannot be recovered of course, but by taking the lessons learned and being grateful for each one (I am not grateful that my family members have left, but that I was able to share, enjoy and learn from them while they were with me) we compensate for what we feel was taken from us.



Fotografías/ Photogrraphy: @mamaemigrante
Edición/Edition by: @mamaemigrante
Traducido por/ translate with: www.deepl.com/translator (free version)

Sort:  

Certainly you learn from losses, otherwise we would be stuck with the loss of a family member that is already very painful, a love and if it is the first it seems that the world is ending, what is certain is that losses also make you think of those pleasant memories, they make you reflect on life, on how we should assume the best attitude in the face of challenges, I hope you continue to climb the ladder, even if it is little by little, and you feel much more fulfilled than what you achieved before. Regards @mamaemigrante

Greetings darling. Grieving is part of living but is a proccess that varies among individuals. I'm very glad you have taken the time to re evaluate everything through all these experiences. Life is certainly one and death is part of it. We have nothing but to enjoy and be grateful until our last breath for this gift of living. Cheers.

I congratulate you for having learned that in sad moments, you can also achieve and learn other things, many take us years, others do not.

That you don't cry is incredible, that's how serious the pain is.

I see where you make good videos, you are a film producer, you should make some videos giving us editing tips, how to make the script, I do not know what we can learn from you jejej greetings.

Truly, losing a loved one changes you. It is hard to read that you do not cry, that is a sign of the great pain that you suffered and I leave that there stored.

Life and its blows always leave us lessons. Thank God you are a warrior and have taken advantage of every circumstance to get ahead. God bless you friend. 🤗🌷

Tanta verdad en tus palabras. La vida suele quitarnos mucho, pero siempre nos compensa con algo que de alguna manera sigue evolucionado y mostrándonos caminos y gente maravillosa. Lamento tus pérdidas amiga 💜

Es muy buena esa forma de pensar amiga! Aunque la vida se lleve a seres queridos , tengamos momentos duros, etc... No podemos rendirnos , debemos continuar, disfrutar de la vida y los momentos al lado de los que aún están.
❤️

Congratulations @mamaemigrante! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 4000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Great participation friend, losses are never easy to assimilate and even less if they are loved ones, those are clearly moments in which we see life in a different way and in a certain way it paralyzes us, but it is up to us to be able to overcome it and move on What you say is very true, even when there are losses we can obtain benefits from it, that is something very real.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @mariajcastro28 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.