You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 62: Skills you have or want

Oh, I'm a skill hoarder, I love skills. I try a little bit of everything. I have the Jack Of All Trades kind of mentality and that's that.

I'd like to share a story or two about both topics. The skills I've got learned well and the skills I need to learn and soon.

Recently, I've been busy with the family business. I decided to take that path and leave my freelancing stuff in the background. I had no commissions, neither the time for any such for many a month. I finally got a weekend free and I went shooting for old clients who have always been nice persons during our interactions. Yeah, I am quite picky about my clients now and those are among the very few on my whitelist.

I told them when I took the job that I would only have one day or even less - only half a day to edit photos after the event was over. So I would only be able to send like 50 or so edited photos and all the rest would be as they were since they entered the camera's memory card.

They said that 50 would be perfectly fine with them. Nice people, remember?

Cutting to the end of the story, I hadn't edited more than a few images a day for many months and I did not know if I were still in shape but...I edited more than 200 in half a day. What I did differently than before was I only saved them in one size, instead of both small and large. Large only. Sorry, too busy. It turned out that skill has been buried deep into my long-term memory.

...

I still need to learn how to talk convincingly to strangers. I have so much theory and a couple of university degrees...and still more theory provided by many a book and many a video on the subject. But I do lack practice and the confidence that comes with it. Currently, I am forcing myself to say the things I know I need to say in some scripted-like situations. More like a robot would do them. No passion so no fear of failure but also...no passion. Not my nature...yet.

...

Also, some ****ing time management.

Sort:  

Hey mate, thanks for joining in and describing a couple things. It's interesting,the talking to strangers/interacting one. In my job I talk to strangers all the time and whilst I've had a little training on communication I certainly don't have two degrees. There's nothing like practice though, and I've found its the best way to overcome some of the hurdles towards good/effective communication.

Your last line on time management also...Yep, that's something people need to learn for sure as most are pretty poor with it. That and prioritising tasks, effort and focus.

Yeah, I consider those last three the same category. We'll either get there on time...or not.