A Saturday Road Trip to My Hometown

image.png

It was a cloudy Saturday morning. The sky cast a mellow, diffused light that is soothing and pleasing to the sight. Despite the lack of direct sunlight, it is a beautiful day, and it is a perfect timing to be outside for a long period of time. It was then, me and my daughter decided to visit my relatives in Tabuelan that is 21.7 kilometers away from Tabogon according to google map. In normal travel with male drivers the route will only take 45 to 50 minutes but in our case we took it 1:25 minutes. We keep taking pictures of everything that interests us.

image.png

Source: Google Map


My daughter and I take turns driving the motorcycle to Tabuelan.


image.png

image.png

image.png
On our way, we passed by this landslide-prone area along the roadside. A portion of the mountain is wrapped with a steel-like net fastened with iron. The structure could be used to keep some boulders from falling directly onto moving vehicles. It may also be used as a warning sign to everyone that the area has a high risk of experiencing a landslide, by the looks of it, despite those things attached to the rocks, it is not safe, but the government or the agency that built those structures knows better.


image.png

Another view that caught our attention was the fruit stand full of fresh fruits. The variety of fruits were arranged in an attractive manner, making it easy for customers to see what they are selling. Most of these fruit stands are run by farmers who grow bananas, jackfruit, and many other fruits for themselves. They harvest it and sell it by the roadside for the passersby to see and to entice them to buy their products. What makes it more impressive? Most of these fruit stands can only be seen in this particular area. Selling on the roadside is their simple way of life.


image.png
Fields with maize, also known as corn, are a typical sight in most rural areas. Everyone eats it on a regular basis. As we enter the vicinity, we can see this fully grown and ready-to-harvest crop, the corn. Most people in this area are very industrious, cultivating their lands to have an abundant harvest. They are very fortunate to have this corn field where they can get their food for everyday consumption.

I couldn't help but notice how much my community had grown and expanded as I traveled along the way to my uncle’s abode. Along the roadside there is this opulent mansion with a swimming pool. Way back then, this area was forested, with thick grasses all over the place. The rough road I used to take to get to school is now an asphalted road. I am quite impressed with the neighborhood’s development.

image.png
We happened to pass by one of the most valuable institutions that molded me as who I am today, my school. This is where I acquired my primary education.

I was filled with excitement as I entered the vicinity. I have noticed the several modifications and developments that occur in the place but what amazes me are the tall trees that surrounds the school are still there. The big ones are maybe cut down but the trees that you can see in the pictures are already there way 3 decades ago. Staying under the shade of the trees was our favorite place to hang out during recess. I feel the nostalgic lingering the memory of my childhood where everything is not complicated.

As I got closer to the place where I was born, I started to miss the old sights and noises of my childhood. My cousins and friends greeted me with open arms, happy to see me after so many years apart.

image.png
I couldn't help but take a picture and happily posed in front of the camera with my uncle and cousins. I will always cherish the memories of this trip and look forward to the next time I can return home.

Thank you very much, Hivers! for your support and for taking time to read my blog. God bless, and more power to everyone.

[//]:# (!pinmapple 10.85421 lat 123.90226 long d3scr)
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @melit79! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!