Weekend-Engagement: WEEK 227// Dogs or Cats?

WhatsApp Image 2024-10-12 at 1.10.18 AM.jpg

Pets in today's society have become an important part of many families' lifestyles, providing valuable and beautiful companionship at home. Whether you live alone or have a large family, having a pet in the house means having excellent company, if you are an animal lover.

While there are people whose pets are a bit more exotic than usual, such as a friend of mine who has a ferret or another friend who has a hedgehog as a pet, the most common animals found in homes are dogs and cats. These two animal species have been part of human life for many years, and it is quite common to visit a home where one or more of these small and cute beings reside.

In fact, there is always the question among friends or acquaintances: do you prefer dogs or cats? It has become a common question when getting to know people and categorizing them in a certain way. Sometimes, they even judge a person's character based on the animal they choose. For example, when I say that I love cats, people always assume that I am a more independent and introverted person; I suppose that is the standard for those who prefer felines.

WhatsApp Image 2024-10-12 at 12.58.02 AM (3).jpegWhatsApp Image 2024-10-12 at 12.57.59 AM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2024-10-12 at 1.04.21 AM (1).jpegWhatsApp Image 2024-10-12 at 12.58.02 AM (2).jpeg

What am I getting at with all this? Simply put, I want to answer the question of why I prefer cats over dogs (although don't get me wrong, I also really like dogs). Yes, I love cats as pets much more. In fact, I have 4 beautiful kittens at home who are an important part of my family.

Regarding grooming, I feel that cats do not need to be bathed as often as dogs since they groom themselves and I have never experienced a bad odor from a cat's fur like I have from dogs after 2 or 3 days without a bath. Cats also tend to learn to do their business more cleanly than dogs; they usually bury their feces and urine and get used to always going to the bathroom in the same place. I'm not saying that some well-trained dogs don't have these habits, but honestly, this behavior is much more common in cats.

WhatsApp Image 2024-10-12 at 1.04.21 AM.jpeg

When it comes to independence, it's undeniable that cats are more independent. Also, in terms of personality, cats are usually more introverted, while dogs are just the opposite. I feel that it's easier to earn a dog's trust and affection, whereas with a cat, you have to do many more things to earn its trust (they are not easy to bond with).

Lastly, in terms of appearance, I believe cats are beautiful in every way. I love how their paws look, their soft fur, delicate whiskers, triangular ears, their imposing eyes and gaze—in every way, they are very cute.