A memorable weekend

in Weekend Experiences9 months ago (edited)

On a faithful Sunday, I decided to go out and have a little fun. I went to Paga Crocodile Pond in the Upper East region of Ghana and also went for a little horse ride. The crocodile pond was an amazing experience. As I approached the pond, I could see dozens of crocodiles basking in the sun, their scales glinting. Our guide told us that the crocodiles in the pond were considered sacred by the local people. There is a legend that a former chief had brought the first crocodile to the pond centuries ago. The chief's descendants still feed and care for the crocodiles to this day.

We were able to get up close to the crocodiles and touch them! I was nervous at first but soon got over my anxiety. Their skin felt rough and scaly. The crocodiles seemed very relaxed as they lay there with their mouths open. The guide said the crocodiles are quite docile because they associate humans with being fed. Still, I made sure not to make any sudden movements around them.

After leaving the crocodile pond, I went horseback riding, something I had never done before. The horses were beautiful, with glossy coats and strong muscles. A guide helped me up onto the saddle and showed me how to hold the reins and direct the horse. At first I was nervous and bounced around a lot as the horse walked. But I soon got the hang of steadying myself in the saddle, I felt a sense of freedom that I don't usually experience in my normal busy life. The horse riding turned out to be one of the most memorable parts of the weekend for me.

It was an incredible Sunday getting to have these unique experiences. From seeing sacred crocodiles up close to riding a horse for the first time, it was a weekend I will never forget. I'm so glad I decided to get out and try something new instead of just staying home. Sometimes you just have to get out of your comfort zone to create amazing memories.